Motivation logo

My only goal

Happiness

By Jenna JonesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My only goal
Photo by Edu Lauton on Unsplash

I spent a lot of time in self reflection over the last year, I learnt that in order for me to feel whole, like a person. HUMAN. I needed to remember who I was.

How does a person remember who they are? Its not like I had amnesia; but, I could not remember what made me happy. I had lost my joy. My days all were the same.

Spent the morning helping my kids with their school work, followed by watching too much tv and never doing anything fun. No board games, no cards. Just groundhogs day.

At first I started with coloring, it had always been my go-to. That was not giving me the spark like it use to.

I noticed that the videos online of people creating pictures with oil pastel really started to spark my interest.

I joined an Amazon Gift Giving Group and started to find my inspiration.

I love to be creative, whether I am making a glowing sports team inspired tree topper for my husband; or creating pictures that I will turn into a coloring book. I decided since I am on Employment Insurance for the next 11 months that its time to do all the things I have been putting off until I had time.

I now have time and goals:

1)Write on this platform as much as I can to help with my creative writing.

2) Write a screenplay

3) Write a short story for one of the challenges on this site.

4) Create a grant proposal for a non-profit I have come up with

5) Start taking photographs again (I had a company for 17 years)

6) Spending as much time as I can, doing things with or without my family but doing what matters to me.

7)Working on the patent for something my husband and I designed during Christmas break

Family Dinners, teaching my kids new things; like dancing around the house with music booming, teaching my girls to cook and doing different things that allow me to be creative by myself and with my family. Family Game Nights, Family Movie Nights. Family time.

Might not sound like a big plan for 2021 but for me the only goal that I have is to be happy, not 24/7 but rather as in general. It's unrealistic to think that life can always be happy but how we handle the bad is how we get back to the good.

I have forgiven anyone I had hurt feelings with, and decided that I can keep people in my life until they try and take advantage of me or my family. I accepted my step mother for the first time in 13 years. I forgave my mother after not speaking to her for almost a year. Also, I got to prove to my father that I am really trying to grow up and stick to my word!

2021 - The real way I rediscovered myself, and found my Joy!

It's interesting to me but my very good friend has become a lifeline for my goals, she is amazing at writing and her insight will be just what I need to work on the many projects I have started for myself. She may not realize how amazing she is but this woman is inspiring and she helps to inspire me everyday. From her book on Amazon Kindle, to her many apps or her personal Virtual Assistant company. She inspires me to be a better human and woman and wife.

2021 - Is the year that I find myself and start liking myself. I don’t know what the end of this year looks like but the beginning is looking bright. Once I can see my friends again then life will be blessed.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jenna Jones

lover of writing - looking for an audience

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.