Motivation logo

My Ode to 2020

MelanieRoseCreates.com

By Melanie RosePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

2020 has been a year to remember and one that most want to forget.

To say it has been a difficult one would be an understatement, at least for me.

The year started off nicely. I had just started dating a new amazing guy that I really liked. The kids were in school and happy enjoying time with their friends. My job was thriving, and I was looking forward to a great year.

Then about two months into the year, everything went downhill and quickly.

First, the kids were forced to be homeschooled while I still had to maintain a full-time job, and as a single parent, that is not an easy thing to do.

Then my sales at work plummeted and came to a screeching halt, which then led to my paycheck being cut down to next to nothing.

I was then forced to take on a second job and use whatever talents I possess to find other income avenues to replace my paycheck. This then forced me to minimize my time in my new relationship, which eventually vanished completely.

Shortly after that, I decided to leave my three-bedroom townhouse, which I loved, to move into a two-bedroom apartment where I sleep in the living room so my son and daughter can have their own rooms.

After cutting down our expenses to the bare minimum, we were making it through okay. Then summer came, and I found some relief with the kids on break from school.

Then towards mid to end of the summer by grandfather became ill and was put on hospice care. A few short weeks later, he passed away.

School began right around the same time, and it was back to homeschooling.

We have now made it through the fall and the holidays, but I can honestly say I have never wanted a year to be over so badly in my entire life!

As I look back over the year and reflect on what has happened and what the new year could bring, I thought about what has helped me get through everything and make it this far.

My family. My friends. My children. My art. My writing.

And my music… Or rather the music of those who have inspired me to keep going.

And even though there have been some super dark days, I know there will be…..

Better Days…. One Republic

It took a while to have this attitude. There were many times I wasn’t sure I would see the light at the end of the tunnel. But if there is one thing I know about myself and everything life has brought me even before 2020...

I know that I am…

The Fighter…. Gym Class Heroes featuring Ryan Tedder

And don’t get me wrong. there were many, many, many, days I got so ….

Stressed Out …. Twenty-one pilots

And I sometimes became so….

Numb …. Lincoln Park

But somehow, I found the strength to…

Rise Up … Andra Day

I had to learn to give it all my….

Blood, Sweat, and Tears….

Because I know we were…

Meant to live… Switchfoot

And I try to remember to always spread my…

Wings… Little mix

And I am gonna do…

Whatever it takes …. Imagine Dragons

And I know I will be….

The Greatest… Sia

And I also now know that obstacles in life…

Can’t hold us…. Macklemore featuring Ryan Lewis

It not always easy to remember to be positive in such trying and uncertain times.

Sometimes you can feel yourself running around and around in…

Circles…. Post Malone

But despite it all, I need to be a

Believer …. Imagine Dragons featuring Lil Wayne

That life will turn a corner in 2021, and things will be brighter on the other side.

And no matter what, I know I have to have….

High hopes… Panic! At the Disco

Whatever life has handed you this year, I hope you are keeping your head up and know there will be an end to what you are going through.

It may not feel like it today or even tomorrow, but someday you will be standing on the other side of your darkness! And just imagine how amazing that will feel!

Be fearless in the face of adversity.

Never stop learning.

Use your imagination whenever possible.

Recognize the beauty that surrounds you.

Remember where you came from, but never lose sight of where you are going!

healing
2

About the Creator

Melanie Rose

Writing can free your soul. At least it does for me. I am an artist and a mother first, but writing gives me an outlet to let my brain wander and create stories to expand my artwork in a whole new way! Follow me @melanierosecreates

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.