Motivation logo

My Looming Passion!

Envision Your Creation with the Right Tools!

By Carol EliassenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Loomed Beanie Caps with tools

Who doesn’t love to create? We are born into a world with so many infinite things to do. Take, for example, my favorite hobby, which is looming. The yarn I use is first made synthetically or naturally with the wool of an animal. It is then spun into yarn by hand or by a machine. I then buy the yarn sold at a hobby shop or from a local spinner. What seems like magic turns a string into either a beanie cap or an enormously warm scarf. A very simple strand of yarn becomes clothing. It always amazes me how I helped it morph into something useful.

What tools I use are just as necessary as the yarn I loom. I have my favorite loom, hook, needle, and last but never least, my scissors. When I need to cut the string, there is no other way to do it than to have the best scissors to use. Why, you might ask? The yarn is not easy to break at all, and it needs a clean, crisp cut to make sure I can thread my needle easily for my finishing work. Where I use the scissors a lot on one piece is when I am making a fringed scarf. The size and cuts need to be the same to complement each side of the scarf.

How I work all the tools together to get a complete piece never ceases to amaze me. When I buy tools, I envision not the device itself as it appears on the shelf but a work of art that will soon be in the making. Your tools play a significant role in your art. Next time you visit a store to buy that pair of scissors, loom, or whatever you need to create from your passion, envision it right then and there. It may not be magical, but it sure feels like it. Take your creative power and turn that small string into something extraordinary. Trust me, it will be worth it.

Since I love making beanie caps and scarves, I end up with so many on hand. I love to give them to my family, friends, neighbors, and even total strangers! When it is cold outside, it seems to brighten up their day and keeps them happy and warm. I have even ventured into taking my hobby and turning it into a business by selling them online. Your passion can take you to places you never thought you would go. When you love to do something, it is never a business, even though it might take you down that road. Your passion is what keeps you motivated and energized. Your tools are what does the work when you have the right tools to use. You get to enjoy the fun and the satisfaction of having created your ware, whatever that may be. Mine happens to be looming.

I recommend finding a hobby you are passionate about and using the right tools to make it happen. Don’t create more work for yourself by denying your chosen hobby the tools needed to do things the right way. The right tools for the job can mean the difference between an unattractive beanie cap versus a well-made one or a wonderfully made scarf versus one with uneven and fuzzy ends on the fringe. It does make a difference. I would choose the well-made one and so would your family, friends, neighbors and even those total strangers!

To conclude, love what you do and make sure you have the tools needed to do it. If not, go to your local hobby store and look at the display of what you need to complete your dream and envision your creation. It just might change your life. It certainly did mine.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Carol Eliassen

I love writing, photography, painting, & crafts. I see myself being the "jack of all trades but a master of none!"

I may not be the best or have total perfection at everything I do, but I give it a good try no matter what and you can too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.