Motivation logo

My Goals for 2022

Out with the resolutions, in with the goals.

By Emily McDonaldPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
My Goals for 2022
Photo by Andreas Dress on Unsplash

The new year is quickly approaching and I have started to ruminate on how I want my 2022 to look. I feel as though I wasted a lot of 2021 because I was doing great at talking about getting stuff done and then constantly not doing it. I would make great plans and then just stop.

The start of the new year is going to be looking a lot different for me. My boyfriend will be going on a 4-5 month long work trip across the globe. I have decided that this is the perfect time for me to focus on myself and my goals. I have the unique opportunity to really focus on myself and it’ll be easier to do that when I’m on my own most of the time. I plan on doing some deep self reflection and work on my soul and my mental health as well as my physical health.

I have some chronic illnesses, fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue. I’m realizing that there are a lot of things that I could be changing in my life in order to feel better overall. I can eat less processed foods, less sugar, and really focus on water intake. I’ve started changing my diet slowly already but I’m ready to commit to a total overhaul. I want to eat the anti-inflammatory diet, and really work on healing my body from the inside out. After cutting out caffeine (I’m all of one week into that adventure), I have started feeling SO much better throughout the day. I am not struggling to keep my eyes open at work, I have (limited) energy after work to actually do things, it’s been crazy. I’ve been drinking caffeine since I was 15 or 16, and I was diagnosed with chronic fatigue at 18 or 19 so this is a huge change for me.

This upcoming year I don’t want to make resolutions, I want to make big goals and break them down into smaller goals. I want to accomplish my goals and feel good throughout the year as I accomplish the smaller goals. I want to have goals in Mind, Body, and Career. I feel I am strong in my relationships and I do have a to-do for the house so I don’t feel I need to do anything in those departments.

My goals in my mind “category” focus on meditation, journaling, and inner child healing. I don’t have access to therapy right now so I really want to push myself to make strides on my own with the resources I have. I love doing guided meditations, they always make me feel so calm and centered and I just really want to incorporate more inner work into my meditations. I also find journaling to be such a healing thing to do daily. It’s much nicer to be able to do a small brain dump every day and be able to let go of heavier thoughts or anything I just feel I have to let go of. I want to work up to meditating daily or almost daily, I currently do it once a week or once every two weeks.

Another thing I really want to focus on in 2022 is lowering my screen time. I feel controlled by my phone and I am not a fan of it. I feel like it’s so hard for me to just sit and watch a movie or watch a tv show. I always want to be playing a game or scrolling through Facebook or Instagram. I want to not feel controlled by social media and really just use it as a way to grow my business, maybe check in with friends for a little bit and then call it good. I want to use that time to really grow. I could be spending the 8 hours a day journaling, reading, exercising, or really spending quality time with my family and friends.

My goals in my “body” category are really geared toward having a better body image, and more confidence in myself. I want to be able to do a pull up, do 5 push ups in a row from my toes, and really just build up my strength and endurance. I want to put body dysmorphia and low self esteem and low self confidence behind me. I am ready to really put in the work and I have started to already and I cannot wait to see what 2022 brings for me. I’m so ready for the struggle and for the amazing results. I don’t want the easy way out, I want to fight for what I want.

My goals in my “career” category are mostly focused on income. I have officially started working on growing my business and not so much my social media presence. I want to just grow my facebook page, and increase my income through things that I make. I would eventually want to leave my current job and just have my business as my main source of income. In the next year though I would like to make $2,000 total in the year. It ends up being about $167 per month. I’d love to blow that out of the water but that little extra would help out so much.

Long story short, I am ready to really commit to my goals and stop fucking around (excuse my language). I want this to be a year of growth, and inner reflection. I want to grow to be the best person I can be and I am so excited to manifest my perfect life. I am ready to meditate daily, journal daily, and workout 6-7 days a week. I am ready to sacrifice the small social life I have right now to really become the person I am meant to be.

What are your goals for the next year? Writing them down can be so incredibly helpful for shifting your mental focus and really believing they will happen.

Bring on 2022.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Emily McDonald

27, fur mom, mental health focus. I'm also a fitness and lifestyle blogger. I hope you enjoy the content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.