Motivation logo

My Freedom in Nature

Finding peace in nature to keep moving on.

By Claudia RodriguezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Virginia Lake at Sunrise

Working hard and keeping a clear path toward a routine is very exhausting, I move around every day making sure my daily chores are complete, yet the day ends and there are several things I have not finished. It is a typical morning, get up go to work at a job that is good but draining, come home and complete the house chores, spend the last hours of daylight between cleaning and cooking, then late at night go to bed and try to relax and unwind before passing out, but since my day was spent on everyone else’s needs my brain decides that now is the time to figure out if I am ever going to write that book or begin my career as a copywriter, and before I know it’s 2 in the morning; I am off tomorrow but must get up at 4:30 to drop off kids at work, then run errands and attempt to finally rearrange the kitchen to fit everything into a nice organized setting. There’s also laundry, and cleaning, again my mind is running off to find what makes me happy, it’s late, get some sleep I tell myself...

This is how my days go and before I know months have passed. The only way to keep my sanity in check is to go for walks, there is a trail nearby and it gives me that peaceful feeling because it’s quiet and serene, the birds and the rustling of the trees make for a very zen moment. I would love to have more time to enjoy it.

Two years ago when I moved here I promised myself I would have a morning routine so I could make time to walk to the lake, clear my head and do a meditation session then come home grab a coffee and sit down to write, yet that hasn’t happened. The urgency of a steady paycheck was always a setback because once you do a “9 to 5” you hardly have time to breathe. In a corporate job you have to commute, clock in, work till the day is done, and based on the shift you work any “free time” you may have is spent completing household chores, and other duties.

I have discovered that if don’t give myself at least a few minutes of nature time it becomes very difficult to cope with my life. I am a water child, I need water to feel alive, and nature to keep me going, and so most of my life I have made sure that at least once a month, more if possible I could go to a park or a river, a lake. A place where I would feel refreshed, going to the beach was always a very regenerative trip, we moved to a city that offers one main river and lots of lakes as well as the two-hour drive to the ocean, all I need is time, and right now it seems that it will be more doable than before. My craft is writing, my hobby to enjoy nature I hope that my decision to leave corporate to focus on writing will prove to be beneficial to my health as well as my retirement plans. I want to make my writing a career. As I enjoy this cup of coffee in my back yard with the birds singing and the trees swaying in the morning air I feel refreshed inspired and ready to go.

The setting is perfect a lap desk a coffee cup and a laptop ready to take in all my thoughts and send them out into the world. I feel the promise coming to life writing is coming along one word at a time. One story a day. There is a lot to be told may it be to the liking of the audience out there.

happiness
2

About the Creator

Claudia Rodriguez

I am a nature loving person who finds the indoors quite suffocating after a while, I find inspiration in the beauty of a mountain, the flight of a bird or the soft swaying of a flower in the wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.