Motivation logo

My Day of Fortune

The mysterious black bag

By Vonte GrantPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
My Day of Fortune
Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

My Day of Fortune

Let me tell you the story how I became 20,000 dollars richer. Now, let me warn you, this is not one of those stories when someone calls my phone threatening me, I’m running for my life, and my family is up for ransom. No, it’s not one of those, sorry to disappoint, and if you are disappointed this probably isn’t the story for you. But let me tell the story before the rest of you leave.

It was a Monday morning, or maybe Tuesday. It was one of those days, but I knew I had school that day, unfortunately. I had this brilliant plan for staying home. You guys wouldn’t understand how brilliant it was. The plan was to pretend to be sick. I can see some of your faces now. Look, school can be very stressful sometimes and a break or two is necessary. Besides, I’m pretty sure that some of you done the same and succeeded. My mom was able to see right through me though. It was like she was there watching me. Everything was perfect. I mean everything. I had fake vomit, I did a few push up to get my body warm, I even used the thermometer on light bulb trick. I guess she was like me as a kid. I mean that’s the only explanation.

But since she had to walk miles in the snow and didn’t have a parent to drive her to school. I had no choice but to go to school every day and guess what, I had to walk. I had to fight my sleep, race to catch the bus, and endure harsh weather conditions. I mean what parent would make their kid go through this? I get it, our generation has it a bit easy, but isn’t that how life goes for the next generation?

Before I left to go to school in the concrete jungle. I looked at my mom one more time to see if she would say those four magic words, but she looked at me and laughed. “Have good day at school”, she said. You should’ve seen my face as I walked towards the bus stop. That wasn’t the end of it. I missed my bus too. I knew I was going to be late. I hated taking the bus. Sometimes I couldn’t find a seat, someone smelled bad, or coughed without covering their mouth. I just hated it. Yeah, I know, I’m a person that disliked germs. I can’t help it.

I’m going to move forward with the story because talking about my experience on the bus is really bothering me.

I finally got off the bus and next it was the 10-minute walk to school that I always dreaded. Since I was already late for class, I made it into a 20-minute walk. I had this routine that I always followed before going to school. I always went to the store to get my favorite snacks. A honey-bun, apple juice, and a bag of Doritos; cool ranch. As I snacked on my go-to food items I happened to see a nice-looking black bag with LG initialed on it. I didn’t know who LG was. I was just thinking about how nice the bag looked. I also saw a little black book next to it.

I didn’t open the little black book because of the movies that I watched. I threw the book as far as I could with my eye closed. The less I knew the better. Now, when I opened the bag, I couldn’t believe my eyes. I had to rub them a couple of times to be sure that what I was seeing was real. I couldn’t believe that I found a bag full of money. I only thought it happened to suburban kids that randomly found bags full of money just to be rewarded with a bike or something.

See, I was different. I’m that thought that everyone wanted to do, but didn’t. I didn’t go to the police to return the money. I ditched school and started to spend. Come on, I know that all of you would’ve done the same thing. So, don’t give me that look. Bills had to be paid! I had the money to help my mom and then some. The only thing I was worried was my mother’s fury. She doesn’t like it when I ditched.

I eventually discovered the name of the person who owned the bag and how much money it obtained. My mom told me. She loved the news. Anyway, his name was Liam Grant. He was some type of billionaire that didn’t care for people like me. He should’ve been a bit more responsible. His loss, right?

Till this very day they are still looking for the bag and the black book. I got rid of the bag ages ago, so when they find it, it going to be empty. I still have money left, but there’s always room for more. I came across this contest that awarded the best story 20 thousand.

This is not a confession because I didn’t give you a name, but a story of how someone came across a black bag with 20 thousand and a little black book. I’m happy that my mom made me walk. I wouldn’t had a story to tell if she didn’t.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.