Motivation logo

My cozy corner

The place I feel most at home

By Talara NolanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What is my cozy corner? When I first asked myself this question I did not really know my answer. But after a day I realized that my couch and table is the place that I spend the most time. It has been my bed, my desk and my table along with many other things.

When I first moved out, like so many other young people, I had very little furniture of my own. Not having a lot of money most of the stuff that I got were either stuff that people just gave me or that I could find really cheap. My birthday is close to Christmas. So when I was a young girl I would ask for a large gift that would count as both my birthday and Christmas gift. I was moving out around Christmas time. Just before that I went to Ikea one day with a friend. Not intending on looking for myself, we went there looking for things for her. But of course I love looking at all the things they have and dream of what I could once have. We were sitting on the furniture and looking around. And I sow this brown couch. I sat on it and feel in love. It was the most comfortable thing that I think I had ever sat on. I knew that I had to have it. So my mother got it for me for my gift that year. It was the first piece of furniture that I really really wanted that I got for myself. Getting it into my new place it told me that I really was an adult and this really was my place.

Over 10 years later and I still have that couch. It has been many things for me. When I was having a very small place trying to save money, it was both my couch and my bed. It is the place that I always know will be there giving me comfort. There is a safe feeling from that. It has now become my desk area, my eating area, the place that I relax at night and where I spend time with my daughter. It is interesting how one place, one piece of furniture, one area can mean so much to you. While I am sure I will out grow it one day and get something else, it has served me very well.

For me this one thing was the signal for myself that I was an adult now. Every time looking at it I knew that it was mine and it meant something to me. For a long time it showed me that I could really want something and work for it to actually get it. While it was a gift, it was still a thing that I sow and really wanted and found a way to get it. I couldn't have afforded it at the time when I got it. So I found a way to get what I wanted. That message stuck with me for a long time. The message that you can want something and work towards it to get it. No matter what it is that you want in your life, there is a way that I can get it. It might take time and it might take a lot of effort, but it is possible. Nothing is impossible to be able to get. Don't ever think that you will never get something, or that something is out of your reach. You are good enough to get anything and everything that you want from the world. Don't hold yourself back or think less of yourself. You are capable to get everything that you want in the world. And that what that corner has taught me. For such a long time any time that I sow it, it reminded me that anything was possible in the world.

I hope that you find the thing that you want in the world. If you are just starting out or starting over, start with one piece, one corner, one area. One place or one thing that you could see and know that everything is possible. The world is a big place and you can make anything you want from it.

Thank you so much for reading. If no one has told you today, you are enough and you are appreciated for just who you are.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.