Motivation logo

My 5 Biggest Mistakes in 10 Years of IT Career

Read on so you can be saved

By Poonam BhattPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
My 5 Biggest Mistakes in 10 Years of IT Career
Photo by Windows on Unsplash

You read that right, I was an IT professional. An adorable reason made me quit my IT career. Yes, you guess that right, my newborn.

Today's story is about the mistakes I did in my 10 years of IT career, and what you can learn from my mistakes, so you can be saved.

5 Big Mistakes I did in my IT career

1. Did not think or learn something new other than the IT field:

Programming was my passion. At that time, I could not imagine myself doing anything other than programming. (But I am a writer now)

It was just after corona hit the world, I started learning new skills like Investment, Blogging, and Writing.

It opened a new world of possibilities in front of me.

After learning to invest, now I can earn between Rs 3000 to Rs 5000 a month passively by just spending 10 to 15 minutes a day on it. A person like me who did not know anything in the field of investment now can handle her own investment, and understand the intricacies of the market's ups and down.

Blogging and Writing have opened the world of new possibilities in front of me. After quitting my IT job and being at home for my newborn, blogging, and writing have given me a new purpose in my life.

Lesson Learnt: Keep learning new skills other than your working field. This can give you a break from your routine life and you never know which skill can help you at what time or come to your rescue at the correct time.

2. Not reflecting enough on my life:

I wanted to be an IT professional and wanted to work in a reputed IT company. I achieved that goal, and I was living the life of my dream.

However, that contentment in me put a full stop to my career progress back then.

I stopped reflecting on myself and my life. I stop reflecting on what should be my further goals. I have stopped reflecting on whether have I come far enough to where I wanted, and where am I leading my life now.

If I would have paused and reflected on my life early on, I could have not settled with what I got later on. And instead might have gone for what I deserved.

Lesson Learnt: Keep reflecting on life from time to time. This will make you realize where you stand, whether are you going in the correct direction and where should be next destination.

3. Did not look for a mentor, or did not focus on networking

While I was working in the corporate IT field, many times, I was in situations, which is totally new to me and I had many questions about how to overcome them in a proper way.

Now when I reflect and I understand that decision taken by me at that time was totally wrong. The correct decision could have changed the course of my IT career in a fruitful way.

Back then, I never bothered to look for a person (who already has been there in a such situation many times) who can guide me through those ups and downs.

I never even bothered to network with people who can nurture my knowledge, and who can challenge my goals.

Lesson Learnt: Look for a person who is more ambitious, more talented, and more knowledgeable than you. Just being in the company of such people helps you become a better version of yourself and can be a guiding light in the darkest moment which can save you from taking a wrong decision in life.

4. Not knowing my worth

Though I was living the life of my dream, I was not working on the things at which I was best.

Rather, I was working on things that I have been told to work on, and these were not the same as what my talent was.

I knew I was never going to go far with this since I never enjoyed the type of work I was given.

I knew I was a master in something else and I can do my best in it.

My mistake was, instead of knowing where my worth lies, I was waiting for someone else to recognize what I was good at.

I never put confidence in myself and never tried changing my path and never took a risk to find work at which I am good and enjoy doing it.

Lesson Learnt: Take charge of your life, know your worth, take risk in life, and do things which is more enjoyable to you. Success will come to you easily with this.

5. Failing to manage people

In any field, the biggest task is to manage the people (around you) in the correct way.

Over a period of time, I learned that success in any field is 60% of how you manage people around you, and the rest 40% depend on your main working skill set.

Though I was the best at my programming skill sets, I was poor at managing people.

For example, I could not deal with people who were jealous of me or harsh with me.

I had a hard time making my subordinates (who hated me) work on some tasks.

I could not deal better way with my senior who often tried to make me feel I was not enough.

I could not convey my pain points in a better way to higher management.

Now, after reading many books and reflecting a lot on my attitude and skillsets, I have improved my skills. However, knowing this skill back then might have made my journey less ragged.

Lesson Learnt: Learn a better way to deal with people. Managing people with your main skillset is a great combination for success.

---

These were my lesson learned and hope it is helpful to you!

---------------------------------

Grab my '5-Steps Success Formula' for FREE to win and get success in any task/goal.

Link to 5-Steps Success Formula

--------------------------------

If my story has added value to your living then consider giving a tip to my story at BuyMeAcoffee.

I will deeply appreciate it if you do so.

----------------------------

self help
Like

About the Creator

Poonam Bhatt

I am a mother and author of the book GOAL TO SUCCESS.

I am an avid reader who loves to read non-fiction books.

If you enjoy my stories then consider supporting my writing by buying me a coffee at BuyMeACoffee.

Your support means a lot to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.