Motivation logo

My 2023 Countdown

Introducing my goals and aspirations for the new year

By Jolene PoulinPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
My 2023 Countdown
Photo by Cathryn Lavery on Unsplash

I don't usually make new year's resolutions, but this year is different. I typically just start things when I want to start them, regardless of time of year or even time of day sometimes (see: me writing this at 9pm on new year's eve).

This year, I'm following in the footsteps of happiness expert Gretchen Rubin and making a list of things I hope to accomplish in the year 2023. It started with the number 12, so I figured I would just count down from there and find something for every number. I'm pretty happy with what I came up with.

Here's the list:

  • 12 books
  • 11 recipes
  • 10 workouts
  • 9 creative projects
  • 8 short stories
  • 7 random gifts
  • 6,000 dollars raised for Dressember
  • 5 small trips
  • 4 games
  • 3 coding projects
  • 2 events
  • 1 big trip
  • 0 driving restrictions

Now, some of those are self-explanatory, but let's go through the list just in case. The fun part is that each goal can be associated with a habit.

12 books: I want to read 12 books in 2023. I thought about trying to read a book every other week for a total of 26 books, but I can hardly read a book a month, so that goal was simply unattainable. Instead, I'll aim for 1 book every month. I already have my shortlist of books to read, but if you have a suggestion, leave it in the comments! The habit associated with this goal: read for 30 minutes every day.

11 recipes: I want to try 11 new recipes. This comes out to about one recipe a month. I enjoy cooking but I get in a rut with my recipes, especially considering I follow a pescatarian diet. So by trying new recipes, I can expand my food horizons and help the dinner table stay fresh. The habit: cook at home a few times a week.

10 workouts: not just 10 ordinary workouts, but 10 different types of workouts. On the list so far are snow-shoeing, rock climbing, and kayaking. I want to get moving in different ways that bring me joy. The habit: routine movement and weekly workouts.

9 creative projects: sewing, crocheting, painting, sketching, anything creative counts. I'm already working on a crochet dress that should be ready in the new year and count as my first creative project. The habit: weekly crafting.

8 short stories: posted right here. I like participating in challenges for short stories as they give me a fresh perspective on my writing. I recently wrote a first draft of a book in 30 days and I want to keep that momentum going. Besides, I enjoy writing. The habit: daily writing.

7 random gifts: people like receiving gifts and I love giving them. So why not do it more often? These are gifts given for no reason other than me wanting to give it. The habit: appreciating those around me more often.

6,000 dollars raised for Dressember: I advocate for Dressember every year and I really enjoy the work I'm able to do through them. This year, I want to advocate in small ways all year round. The habit: wear a dress once a week.

5 small trips: to cities around me or places within my country. To me a small trip is anywhere I can go and stay for under $500. I want to spend more quality time with my partner exploring new places. The habit: spend less money (to save for the trips).

4 games: video games, that is. At first I thought I would start 4 and only finish 1, but I think spending some dedicated time playing 4 games is a good place to start. I enjoy games and want to spend more quiet time with myself fostering this hobby. The habit: spend 2 hours gaming every weekend.

3 coding projects: in any language, but preferably one I don't use very often. This springs off my attempt to do Advent of Code this year and really enjoying the challenges it offers. The habit: spend 2 hours coding for fun each week.

2 events: that I host. I like having people over, but I never host enough. I want to plan and host 2 events in my home this year, whether those be with family or with friends. The habit here: connecting with friends and family more often (it's a loose habit, I know).

1 big trip: abroad or somewhere for a longer period of time. My partner's family often talks about going somewhere warm for Christmas, maybe this is the year it happens. The habit: save more money (again).

0 driving restrictions: this is a big one. I don't drive. I know how to, but I have a provisional license and I don't like being on the road. I think this fear can be conquered with the habit of weekly driving. And then I can take my road test before the end of the year and be able to take all the road trips I want! The habit: drive somewhere once a week.

What do you think of my 2023 countdown?

I plan to keep track of everything through a specific photo album on my phone. This way everything will be in one place and by the end of the year, I'll have a visual diary of what I accomplished.

Do you have any goals going into the new year?

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jolene Poulin

I'm an amateur writer with an interest in fiction and general story telling.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.