Motivation logo

Movies that Helped Me Love Myself

... and my life.

By KamPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
1

I think the phrase "fake it til you make it" is something everyone has had to tell themselves six or seven times in their life. Whether that's meeting new people, going out and being social when all you wanna do is stay inside for the night, or just self-confidence as a whole. Fake it 'til you make it, or in this case - fake it 'til it's true.

I started working 100% from home this year, and with that comes a lot work, but also a lot of sweatpants, scrolling on social media, and sometimes not a lot of motivation to workout after working all day. It also means a lot of movies. As I created lists of classic films, comedies, and dramas, but then I also created a list of movies, tv, books, etc that would I thought would better myself as a person.

I started with the one that everyone I'm sure expected to be on this list:

1. Eat, Pray, Love

I recently downloaded one of the many apps for calorie counting. Why? Because social media and the internet tells you that when you're trying to lose weight, you can do a number of things: diet, calorie deficit, or replace most of the foods in your current life. For people that eat only junk food, sure replace a couple of things and take care of your body. But, what if, maybe, we just ate healthy and every now and then, didn't make ourselves miserable for eating a cookie, and as Liz (Julia Roberts) in Eat, Pray, Love states:

"I’m so tired of saying no and waking up in the morning and recalling every single thing I ate the day before. Counting every calorie I consumed so I know exactly how much self-loathing to take into the shower. I’m going for it. I have no interest in being obese; I’m just through with the guilt."

I'll tell you right now, after watching this scene. I deleted the calorie counter. Yeah, I made a grocery list and put veggies and greens, but I also put ice cream and pancake mix on there too. It's about balance, not guilt. This is just one of the MANY scenes in the film that gives you a reminder and lesson to live in the moment.

2. Last Holiday

I actually saw this film in theatres when it came out...with my dad. It's one of my favorite "Christmas" films, and also one of those films that reminds you just how short life is. The discovery that she has a terminal illness prompts introverted saleswoman Georgia Byrd (Queen Latifah) to reflect on what she realizes has been an overly cautious life. So Georgia withdraws her life savings and jets off to Europe where she lives like a millionaire.

I constantly think about all the things that I'd want to accomplish before I die and movies like this really make you stop about think about longevity and experiencing life while you can, especially when tomorrow isn't promised. I had a conversation with my mom recently about a trip that I really wanted to go on, but realized I probably couldn't afford it at the moment. The conversation went like this.

Mom: "Go when you CAN afford it!"

Me: "Well, I still wanna travel a little before I turn 30."

Mom: "Are you gonna die when you're 30?"

I don't know the answer to that question, but I also wasn't going to say that to my mother. The fact is that yes, of course, I'm still young, but I want to get in as much life as I possibly can. Travel in my 20s, learn new skills, and make the promise to remind myself that money can be remade, but you can never make back time. Georgia promises herself:

“You know how it is. You keep your head down and you hustle and hustle. Then you look up one day and wonder, “How did I even get here? Next time... we will laugh more, we'll love more; we just won't be so afraid.

It's absolutely something to live by and I try to remind myself of this as often as I can.

3. About Time

When I tell you I missed the boat on this film, I really missed the boat. When One Tree Hill or Game of Thrones was popular, I avoided them like the plague, somehow thinking that can't be that good, they are just popular for the time. To be honest, I've now seen all nine seasons of One Tree Hill about three or four times. Also just finished Game of Thrones for the first time. I get the hype. About Time was another I should have listened to the masses about.

About Time's synopsis, I'm sure threw some people off: When Tim Lake (Domhall Gleason) turns is 21, his father tells him a secret: The men in their family can travel through time. Although he can't change history, Tim resolves to improve his life by getting a girlfriend (Rachel McAdams). Scrolling through TikTok one day, someone posted a video of their vows saying it was a quote from her favorite film. The quote went as such:

"I'd only give one piece of advice to anyone marrying. We're all quite similar in the end. We all get old and tell the same tales too many times. But try and marry someone kind."

A simple quote that got my attention. As, the algorithm works, I was shown scenes from the film next, with comments saying how this film changed their entire view on life. After watching the film, I wholeheartedly agree. I don't think I've ever cried harder at a movie in my life. It taught me many things, but as the quote goes, I just try to live every day as if I've deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.

Hi there!

This story has been several weeks in the making since I always do six to 30 rereads and edits, so any likes are greatly appreciated! If you have any questions, comments, or if you have any movie recommendations, DM me @kcor34 on Instagram or comment down below. I'll try to respond as soon as I can.

Thanks for reading, and until next time. :)

happinessmovie review
1

About the Creator

Kam

My belief: Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.