Motivation logo

Move with purpose

Mindful goals, steps to progress

By Marcus AzariaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Move with purpose
Photo by Tegan Mierle on Unsplash

Knowing your goals can change, the steps we take can lead us there or we could end up lost. Taking action towards a purposeful goal is rewarding in itself. Not knowing the path is what excites the wildside in all of us. A careful blueprint model to success could lead you into feeling lost or literally asking yourself how did I get here? Moving forward using personal stories and lessons learned may provide you with a point of view unconsidered.

The year is 2009, after a recent move losing access to easy forest runs, small get-togethers with friends from school. Dropping out of school as an 18-year- old with an hour walk each way, left few options. The path is decided for me, a 40-minute walk each way delivering newspapers for $26 per 2 weeks plus tips. With computer skills but no computer, do you know what I'm getting at? In my mind, the simple math is 26$ divided by $300 to get access to additional opportunities.

The previous night, couldn't sleep, I drank decaf coffee and pulled an all-nighter to wait up for the bundle of papers. It was January 1st, remembering it so vividly. A light layer of snow on the ground, with the fresh scent of a crisp winter morning in Canada. Beginning the journey for the six-month laptop goal had begun, soon it would become realized. Eventually coming to fruition my body had somehow known what movements to take. Words can not explain what that laptop means to me and I hold onto it now for sentimental value. What it led to next was a bit of a pay increase.

Waking up to a $600 check from the university's cafeteria at 19 from previous work on a 6-month paper route to purchase the computer to scan a resume and e-mail to apply is something I learned along the way. I couldn't even tell you exactly where or what precise moment it changes, but somehow it builds. As the walk got longer, I got smarter, using a bicycle to travel quicker thus saving valuable time. Just a 20-minute bike ride to get to my first hourly job was easy. Trust me, the reward is certainly worth battling against quitting. With this new mindset, I now know what it means to start your path and follow through on it.

Verbal and physical violence directed toward me was nothing new to me. As far back as I can remember I was being pushed downstairs, pushed down slides, I was knocked unconscious 3 times by the time I turned three years old. Looking back sometimes, I do wonder what easy and painless would feel like. All I can tell you is when it's hard we have this constant pressure. It's there when no one's around, it's heightened the bigger the group. And there is this uncomfortable silence that just floats in and out of you.

I didn't ever fear to fail, there has been a gradual uptrend in my life and a certain disrespect that is just so negligent from people who didn't have to fight a battle to get there. Oh, another temperature complaint, yes it is hot I'll trade you a lifetime of headaches for your moments' problem. There is not enough time in our lives to follow everyone else's trends nor would it be productive at the end of the day to walk in a direction that does not align with how true we are to ourselves. Look around they're only there for your benefit to them.

Being at a distance socially has shown me the importance of belief in oneself. Being at peace with everyone around you but not within, is no way to live. If it means taking 180 000 steps in 6 months for $26 every two weeks, to take smarter steps takes a lot of discipline. Thoughts of incompetence, looking weak or stupid for trying. Don't worry about any of that, you will forge your way, and focusing your actions on even the smallest steps, will build you're future. Whether you decide or not, the path may change but the person you are will always stand a chance and be determined by the pressure pushed up against you. Diamonds are built by pressure, make sure to take whatever challenges you face as a lesson, and build upon you're future with what you know now. The future depends on it

You can also check out my website at davidshomebusiness.com for a complete listing on additional earning opportunities, I try to show as many of these as I can, in case it helps even just one person.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Marcus Azaria

Constantly searching for additional income sources.Millennial, 3 time provincial sports champion(basketball,baseball). Unofficially the youngest billionaire in the history of the world and the richest for my age (Satoshi Nakamoto).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.