Motivation logo

Motivating Yourself During Pandemic

Sometimes you are the only one who can make a difference in your own life.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like
Motivating Yourself During Pandemic
Photo by Tegan Mierle on Unsplash

Since the sheltering in place began, Americans have had many voices in our ears. Sports figures, entertainers, soap stars, and preachers have all given their well meaning opinions on what to do. Day after day there is someone telling us to wash our hands, wear a mask, don't wear a mask, play games,stay inside, take the test, get the vaccine, etc. With all these voices it can be difficult to determine which ones to listen to. You might find yourself wishing they would all shut up instead of going on and on trying to direct your life. You could become resentful of all this well meaning advise rather than appreciate it. I was recently in the parking lot of Kroger where the news that was being broadcast inside the store, was also coming in loud and clear on a loud speaker from the parking lot. I found it over kill and overwhelming.

By Matheus Ferrero on Unsplash

This is why there are times when you must encourage your own self because not even those of your own household can help in every situation. As you watch the news and read articles you will have seen a lot of crazy things going on. There are people arguing for the right to go back to church even as gatherings in churches has led to coronavirus diagnoses and death. Some say the government is taking away their rights and others say it's best to follow the rules and use wisdom. You might see people without masks coughing and sneezing in public as you are dealing with financial issues and wondering how you will pay your rent or mortgage, and it can all become a bit much. This is why it is important to have a few moments where you turn off the voices and think for yourself.

By Erik Mclean on Unsplash

One thing that can make this so simple for you is to remember to stay in your own lane and walk your own path. Don’t try to emulate others or carry out every single command coming from CNN and other networks. You live in your own skin and in your own home and as an adult should have the ability to take in information and make your own informed decisions. I recall my daughter calling me one Friday night a few months back around 9:30 PM saying there was a run on toilet paper. I went to the Family Dollar a few blocks away and purchased four packs with four roles each. I thought this was reasonable but the next day I saw that all the toilet paper, about 50 packs was gone. Since the coronavirus only required a 2 week sheltering in place and people were allowed to go to shop, I could not wrap my head around the hoarding.

By Richard Burlton on Unsplash

Each time I was in a store it gave me a panic attack to see all those empty shelves which continue even today. I had to learn to take a deep breath and ignore other people's actions. Thankfully my oldest son began buying me an extra pack or two of toilet paper whenever he found any and I have kept it in my household without hording. I share this because different people will have varied issues that bother them at this time. Accept your unique perspective as being uniquely yours. There is no one size fits all and there is no rhyme or reason to COVID-19. My husband has an older cousin who is 96 and living in a local nursing home. She tested positive but now is free of coronavirus. In the midst younger and healthier people are dying.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It is the new normal to have our temperature taken when we go certain places and use masks and gloves. It is the new normal to have the president of the United States contradicting himself each day and pushing an unproven drug on Americans, even saying that he is taking it although he has not tested positive. Many Americans believe he is lying and that a brings stress because of our national leader always having controversy rather than bringing us together. . These are uncertain times but if you take a deep breath and use common sense you will be alright. It is important to find things to do that will get your mind off of this situation such as reading books or watching television.

Endulge in reading.

I find old school Looney tunes, and the Flintstones crack me up. I enjoy the reruns of classic shows like The Beverly Hillbillies, Twilight Zone, and Good Times help me to feel better. If classic televisions does not work for you, well you know what does. I can sit all day reading books and watching the TCM network. I enjoy the old black and white classics but this is not everyone’s cup of tea. My husband listens to his old school 1860s and 1980’s music all day, Abe even at night. He works crossword puzzles, and reads his bible. Thats what he enjoys and you know deep down what will work for you. The suggestions of all these famous people are just that and you don’t have to follow what they or anyone else tells you.

By Frank Okay on Unsplash

You know yourself better than anyone else so again take a breath, count to 10 and think for yourself. Just because the malls, beauty shops, and other establishments are open does not mean that you have to be one of the first to go there. One of the things I have noticed on Facebook is how quickly everyone follows trends or shares news that may not even be correct. Don't do things just because they are popular or everyone else is doing them. Become a unique original and not a carbon copy during this pandemic. Having said that please use common sense and don't partake in any activity that puts others at risk. Doing you has consequences so choose wisely. I have a friend in South Africa who is making her own alcoholic beverages at home because the government shut down the ABC stores.

Bird nest is in this plant

This woman is remaining in her own home and not out drinking and driving. She is using wisdom while finding a way to continue an activity that she enjoys. She did not encourage others to follow suit but only shared what is keeping her sane during this worldwide crisis. Find your own special way of coping and enjoy doing so. I had a hanging plant that went from the ceiling to the floor so I hung it on the front porch where there was room to grow. After two weeks as I was watering the plant I realized a bird had made a nest inside and there was an egg in it. I cut two of the stems from the plant and placed them in the soil with two other house plants. This way I will grow two additional plants that will continue to grow. I have used this method successfully before so I know it works. Watering, fertilizing and caring for my foliage gives me something to do to keep my mind off of the pandemic. I am also watching the bird nest to see when a baby bird is born.

Bird egg

Truthfully I cannot encourage those who have had loved ones die because I’ve not experienced that. I cannot imagine what it’s like to have multiple family member succumb to the coronavirus and not be with them in the hospital. I can say to the rest of you to keep moving. Walk, exercise, dance and do all you can to motivate yourself and decrease stress. Some people were already sheltering in place because they did not have the money to go out to eat or get a massage or their nails done. Anyone who was already struggling financially may find they have a low tolerance for those whining over trivial issues. Again I say look out for yourself. You don’t want to end up in a hospital or dead because of what other people are doing.

Water falls

There are so many simple pleasures in life that are free and easy so consider some of them to encourage yourself. Walk in the wet grass of early morning sans shoes and socks. Run barefoot in the rain and dance. Sing out loud your favorite silly songs. If you feel safe and it’s permissible go on a walking trail, hike in the woods, climb a mountain and find a stream. Running water and high altitudes offer a peace and tranquility like no other. If you are religious then pray and utilize what you have been taught regarding coping skills from your faith based organization. Play with your dogs or cats and rub them often. Call people on the phone and do wellness checks. Purchase snacks, games and or toys when you can for your young children or grandchildren.

Backyard cookout.

If you are not ready to step out of your home, then open a window or door and enjoy fresh air or listening to the birds sing. Start a blog or if you are a writer contributor more to your writing site. Once you stop and breath a little, you will be able to come up with your own creative ideas for motivating yourself. When you stop depending on others for encouragement you will find the hidden treasures I your own mind. One last thing to keep in mind is an old adage. “ This too shall pass.” If like me you thought for years this was a biblical proverb you would be wrong. According to Wikipedia it is an old Persian adage that came to the Western world because of 19th-century retelling of a Persian fable by English poet Edward FitzGerald.

Mountain stream.

This phrase was also used in a speech by Abraham Lincoln prior to his becoming the sixteenth United States President. I’ve found mysel quoting this on more than one occasion. Use this adage or find phrases of your own that help you get through each day. I have two that come from when my two sons were little boys and finicky eaters. They are 12 years apart but we’re so similar as little boys of preschool age. When presented with foods they did not like my first born would yell “ No don’t want it”, and his younger brother would shout “ No thank you.” Whenever a day presents issues that I don’t wish to deal with I will calmly say, “No thank you” or “ Don’t want it.” This pandemic will pass and the more ways you find to encourage yourself through the process, the more likely you will be to maintain your mental focus.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.