Motivation logo

More than author.

Becoming a writer.

By Lisa Jacovsky Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1
More than author.
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Introduction

We all evolve as we learn and grow over the years and for me it is something I welcome. I am at a point in my life where I am really finding myself again. I am rediscovering what makes me happy and that is writing. I am learning there is more to writing than what I grew up believing or maybe it is what I was taught to think. This article is about how I began writing when I was young. What I am learning about writing and how I am evolving into more than an author.

How I started writing.

I have been writing stories since I was a kid, maybe seven years old. Back then it was before computers and I would use a pen and paper to write. It took me a long time to begin to write using my computer anything outside a paper for school. I always loved the feel of the pen in my hand and as I put it to paper. I still have a bit of an obsession with pens to this day.

Short stories took a back seat when the demand for writing increased in school. I think I lost a bit of my passion for writing because of all the writing we had to do in college. Then one day it finally just hit me that I wanted to write again. It was more of a need when the inspiration came. That was the day I decided I would become an author. I wanted to make a difference in the world and finally felt that using that skill and love for writing could be the way to do that.

Rediscovering my passion for writing.

Writing my first children’s book was both exhilarating and scary at the same time. It felt good to be putting the ideas to paper. It also felt scary to know I would be so vulnerable one day as to have more than my family read my writing. At the time, my friends did not even know that I use to love to write. I decided it was a chance I had to take.

Writing just feels so easy and natural to me. Each time I sat down to work on a book in the series the ideas and words just flowed out of me. It really felt amazing to be writing again. I felt the same thing when I sat down to write my two short stories centered around the silly shenanigans my cats get into. It was almost as if I would really lose myself in these imaginary worlds with these characters I was writing. I felt like I had finally gotten back to my roots and rediscovered a passion that truly made me happy.

Becoming more than author.

After I published my first book, I discovered this amazing world of writers or writing community as it is called. I started to learn so much about the world of being an author. I also started to learn what being a writer is. And the difference if you choose to see one. To me being an author is someone who writes books. Being a writer, I feel like is more than that.

I feel there are many ways to become a writer from writing articles about travel to pets to fashion to opinion pieces to research articles. Being in the middle of writing my dissertation I am learning there is a whole other way to write specifically for that.

Now that I am discovering this world of being a writer, I feel that I am learning a whole new and wonderful way to write. From becoming a first-time author to working on my skills at writing research articles I am happy to have rediscovered my passion for writing. And looking forward to where this path of being a writer will take me.

success
1

About the Creator

Lisa Jacovsky

Author of the award winning series Lets Talk! and podcast host of No Limits with lisa jacovsky

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.