Motivation logo

Meet Manzzy

Meet Manzzy

By Sarah BlessingPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What's your name, and where are you from?

My name is Tyler Manzardo, and my stage name is Manzzy. I'm a 22-year-old Pop Rap artist from the U.P. of Michigan. Though I lived in Minnesota for 11 years, I currently reside in Ypsilanti, Michigan, and moved here only a couple years ago. Michigan is home for me. My immediate family remains in Minnesota, and I visit them every few months or so. Leaving home was the best thing I could've done. Being out on my own has taught me many great lessons. I work at a hospital, and it's opened my eyes to the importance of living life to its fullest. The richest place in the world is likely a place you wouldn't even guess. The richest place in the world is the graveyard. It's where many dreamers lie dead, along with what could've been. The cemetery is riddled with dreams that were not pursued one reason or another. Do I want to make that place any richer? Nah, fam… miss me with that!

Why do you love what you do?

I love what I do because it brings me joy. That's what life is really about, not happiness. Happiness is an outward expression, whereas joy is an inner feeling. You gotta be cool with yourself before you can truly be happy. That's why I love what I do. It makes me cool with myself, which is one of the most important things, if not the most, in anything one may do.

What makes you different?

Many things make me different. I'll give a couple for now. I've got mad ADHD. My brain goes at a speed that only the flash is familiar with. I'll be lookin' at you, lookin' at me, lookin' at you thinking about what I'm gonna have for breakfast, lunch, and dinner all at the same time. Consequently, throughout my life, I've been told my biggest problem is not listening. Honestly, I think it's been a solution to any bullshit that could've unfolded in doing so. If there's one thing I've learned, don't take advice from anybody, not even this piece. I'm also a Native American from the Chippewa tribe. I get that from my mother's family, which is a big thing. So here I am, repping my tribe. Respect it or begone.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself with a Grammy. Maybe I'm full of myself, but that's only because nobody's gotten a piece of me yet. I admit, though, I am at my best with a team. I'm always looking to connect with people. Overall, the place is only as good as the people there, right?

What do you want to accomplish in life?

There are many things I'd like to accomplish in my life. The list is nearly endless, and I have goals beyond my lifetime I likely won't reach, and that's okay. That's how it should be. One thing I will undoubtedly accomplish in this life is to honor my Uncle's memory. Before my time, my family lost a member to the Navi, my Uncle Dave Frazier. He died a hero, saving many people from a gas leak. I have heard many stories about him ever since I can remember. I recently found out that he told my mother before he left for the Navi that when he got back, he was going to start a band and pursue music. He never got that opportunity, so I must honor his memory by doing what he didn't get the chance to do.

What do you bring to your industry?

To the industry, I bring diversity. I keep my stuff as original as possible. On top of that, I've always felt like an outcast who never fit in. I have decided to make my own place, and anybody who doubts me is in for a rude awakening.

What do you want to be remembered for?

Firstly, let me tell you what I don't want to be remembered by. I don't want to be remembered for my dream. Instead, I wanna be recognized for who I become in pursuing this dream. That's more important than the dream itself.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Blessing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.