Motivation logo

Meet Daniel Jesus

Meet Daniel Jesus

By Sarah BlessingPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

What’s your name and where are you from?

My name is Daniel Jesus Quiles and I am from, and continue to live in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. My mother, father, brothers and sister all remain in Philadelphia as well. My mother was a rapper in the 80’s and my dad used to sing all the time. My brothers have appeared on my tracks over the past 10+ years. To say that music runs in our blood is an understatement, one I never felt worthy of debuting to the world. What started as a family hobby is now transforming into a career.

Why do you love what you do?

What I do is what I love. What I love is what I do. There is no difference. I am Danny Melody, always have, always will be. I live life through music, and music lives life through me. I was born with this drive towards music. I faltered and diverged, but the tides bring me back time and time again. Life presented me with many obstacles: parental drug abuse and alcoholism, poverty, neglect, street violence, academic hardship, problematic romantic relationships, conflicting religious views, familial betrayal… to name a few. Regardless, I have moved forward. I have lived and loved and pursued an outlet. An outlet that is and always will be, my music.

What makes you different?

Let me ask you the same question. What is “different”? I don’t belong to a collective. I don’t subscribe to a normal. I am an individual that acknowledges my past, accepts my present, and plans for my future. While I respect my predecessors, I do not idolize them. I cannot follow in anyone's footsteps. My feet either won’t fit or I have a different style preference. Let it be what it may. I am myself. I feel, therefore I learn. I learn, therefore I grow. I confide in few and trust in fewer. If I can’t be myself, who am I?

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself in continued success. I say “continued” because I am currently successful. What I seek is the opportunity to make my fans successful in life through my music. To understand, feel, and hear themselves through my music. Do I wish for perfection? No. Do I wish for award shows? No. Do I wish to empower myself and others to better their lives? Yes. Do I wish to set in motion the ability to get a bag, promote yourself, support your family and friends, retire happily and healthily? Yes. I wish to inspire. I have and will continue to inspire individuals through my music.

What do you want to accomplish in life?

I want to accomplish a work of art that brings me peace. This is a selfish movement at heart that I selflessly share with others because others may be experiencing similar problems, emotions, or situations. I could think of nothing better than bringing everyone with me on my journey.

What do you bring to your industry?

I bring nuance. As stated before, I’m not looking for fame in its truest form. I’m looking for others who can relate to how I feel, think and navigate this world. It’s not for everyone. I’m not sure how I got here or why this is my fate. All I know is that I believe in me, and I believe in all of my fans. Together we can understand this world and all it throws at us.

What do you want to be remembered by?

I’ve always posed the same question to myself and honestly, I don’t know. Could it be my music, my genuineness or how determined I am at everything I do? I think people will remember how they experienced me, and remember me for their own reasons. Whether those reasons are positive or negative is up to how they’ve experienced me. In reality, it doesn’t matter what I’m remembered by as long as I know who I am.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Blessing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.