Motivation logo

Maybe she's born with it,

maybe it's being a Cusp Baby™

By ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Which one are you??

We've all seen them: the images, quizzes, and memes promising to give us some clarity or justification for who we are and why we are that way based on one thing alone: our Zodiac sign. Somehow, even though we've seen a million+1 of these doodles and depictions, we're still sucked into another one when it's presented. We want to see ourselves or see how others perceive us.

I am super guilty of this, but it's only natural.

There has always been this duality in my personality: I'm adventurous yet a total homebody. I'm carefree yet incredibly serious. I crave incredible experiences yet I hate to spend money. I'm a cusp baby; born between two signs and there has been a lot of confusion because of that.

So which two kitties in the picture above are me? Well none other than the Croc-donned Sagittarius and knife-wielding Capricorn... yeah things can get a little weird as a someone born on the cusp.

I was born at midnight on December 22nd, right as the carefree and adventurous Sagittarius of the 21st day turns into the money-driven and uptight Capricorn. Throughout my life, I have felt this genuine split. Sometimes my Sagittarius sign takes over like when I decided to study French and Italian instead of something like Chemistry or Engineering. Subsequently, I uprooted my American life to go study abroad in France and Italy during my Junior year at Penn State University. But my Capricorn side was ever-present as I compensated for studying Liberal Arts by completing not one but FOUR separate majors and graduating with honors from the Schreyer Honors College. It was almost as if I couldn't let my spontaneous and fun self get away with enjoying an adventurous life. I had to push myself to feel as successful as possible. There have been so many times that I have struggled internally between wanting to be this super wealthy person who pinches every penny and someone who genuinely gets to enjoy an abnormal life full of excitement like a true-born Sagittarius would dream of.

Sometimes my signs work together, and other times it is complete chaos and I'm stuck without any "success". My realistic/pessimistic Capricorn side doesn't let me dream my optimistic dreams and my Sagittarius side poo-poos my longing to work hard and find a highly successful career; then I am left at an impasse. They tear each other down... they distrust one another... they don't believe in the other's goals.

So I look at these depictions of the signs. To find myself. To look for a "sign" of what I should be doing. To see which sign I really align with. But that's the thing I've come to realize: I shouldn't have to deal with this internal struggle. It's me and my signs against the world, not any other way.

And when the dichotomy comes together, it's a blessed thing... like when I was awarded a prestigious Fulbright grant to live and work in Southern Italy. That experience was the PERFECT way for my two worlds to overlap. I felt successful, I felt free, I felt secure, I felt adventurous. The culmination of my hard work as a Sagittarius (following my dreams of living abroad and speaking foreign languages) and as a Capricorn (doing well in school, working three jobs while in school to save up a good amount of money) came together in this spectacular way that was almost too good to be true.

So my advice as a cusp baby? Harness the power of your signs. Find a way for them to overlap. Live in a way that makes your dichotomous soul feel successful: whatever that particular success looks like (it's different for everyone!) It's a special gift, use it wisely.

advice
4

About the Creator

Renee

I live for unexpected experiences and good food! As a cultural-enthusiast and linguaphile, my studies and passions have taken me around the world. I teach English as a foreign language and I believe that language is beyond powerful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.