Motivation logo

Making your dream life into your reality

Have you sat there and said I wish my life was different? Or I wish I could live somewhere else? Make it a reality, not just a dream.

By Talara NolanPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Making your dream life into your reality
Photo by Cody Board on Unsplash

I'm sure that at one point or another in your life, you wished that things could be different. I'm sure you have sat there and said, I wish I could do that, as you watch other people really live their life. You watch other people achieve great things, and have these amazing lives, and think to yourself that you wish you could be like them. But why can't you? What's really holding you back? The only thing that is different between you and that other person, is that they went out and made their dreams a reality. When you are just sitting there watching other people make it a reality.

I know that you are thinking, that's easy to say, hard to do. I didn't say that it won't be hard. It can be the scariest thing in the world. But sometimes the scariest things are the things that can change your life the most. The main difference between people who are really successful and those that aren't, is that they go after their dreams and lean into the scary. That scary feeling of being in the unknown, of doing something that is not comfortable. Of being in the uncomfortable. It's not that they don't feel the same fear, the same fear of failing. It's that they feel that and go after it anyway. I once heard someone say that it is when you feel uncomfortable that you know that you are growing.

I will admit that I have been that person, that person looking at other people live their lives and wish that I could do it too. I've been that person sitting in fear, afraid to change, afraid of failure, so I stay in unhappiness. But I am making a commitment to myself that I won't do that in 2022. The fact that it is 2022, makes me wonder where the time went. It feels like yesterday when it was 2010. Then I started to look back on my life. It made me wonder, what have I really done with the time that I have? Not a lot, if I'm being honest. Just because that's how it was, doesn't mean that is how it has to be. Do I have a crazy story, about how I changed my life totally in a day? How I made my life totally different, so you can as well? Honestly, no, I don't. I made a commitment to really change and to do better. I live in Canada, and right after I made that commitment to myself, they shut things down again. So the plans I had started to make, I couldn't do. And things were back on hold for me. This pandemic has been hard for that, at least if you live in Canada, where we shut things down all the time. But my commitment has not changed. I want to do things, I want to really live this year. And regardless of what else is going on in my country, I am going to make that happen.

So where do you start? Well, start by thinking about your dream life, the life you wish you had. Don't compare yourself to other people. Don't sit there and think I want her life. Because that might not work for you and your personality. Really think about yourself, your dreams and your skills. If you had your perfect life, what would it be? Would you be a stay-at-home mom, would you run your own business, or would you be traveling the world? Life can go in many different directions, and truly you can make your life look like anything you want. If you really have no idea, sit in a quiet place with nothing on. Close your eyes, and picture your perfect day. Then look at the aspects in that day, and start from there. Once you see your perfect life, then write it down. Write it down like it already has happened. I own a house, I am married, I earn $100,000 a year.

Once you have your dream life in your mind, then you can start to make your goals in order to reach your dream. If your goal is to have a successful business, then think about what you will sell. And make goals towards making that business.

Yes, you will be afraid. This is a scary thing. Go past your life, into the unknown. Lean into your fear. That is where the change will happen. Yes, you might fail, but with every failure you will learn something else you needed to know. If you are scared about failing and having to tell people that you then failed, that is a valid fear to feel. Anyone that is really there for you will support you no matter what the dream is. So if they don't, then they weren't really there for you. But if it's too overwhelming to think about failing and telling people that, then don't tell anyone. Go after your dreams, and don't tell anyone until you are sure this is what you want. At the end of the day, this is your life. It isn't for anyone else. The only person you should be trying to make happy is yourself. So if you don't want to tell anyone, don't. There is no rule that says you have to tell anyone.

If you don't have a planner already, get one. They will help so much to get you to keep track of your goals. Keeping everything in one place really has helped me to be able to make goals that actually help me achieve what I want. Linked below is a planner if you want to check it out:

https://amzn.to/3EYYHJ0

I will also link something called the '6-minute success journal.' I have not tried it yet. However, I have heard that other people have used it and seen real success in their life. It's aimed to help you be more productive and achieve more goals. So check it out:

https://amzn.to/3HCYJrX

No matter what your dream is. Know that you can make it happen. All you have to do is try. Even if you fail the first time, get up and try again. No matter what status your country is in, there are still ways that you can make things happen.

-T

advice
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.