Motivation logo

Making The Best of a Difficult Situation

Debrarose Toscano

By Debrarose ToscanoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Making The Best of a Difficult Situation

Debrarose Toscano

Year after year I found myself unable to attend quilt shows due to various reasons: to far away, to expensive, unavailable due to work or family obligations etc.…. and then came COVID. After dealing with all the restrictions that we instantly had to face and sewing feverishly making face mask for family, friends, neighbors local nursing homes I was tired, nervous, and depressed. Until one day I read an email from Mancuso Show Management informing all of us that they were going to hold their first virtual quilt show. I immediately went to their website to check it out and instantly signed up for their event including various classes. I attended classes in each of their virtual shows in 2020 – wow what a great experience I was in my glory!!

Just to mention a few of their amazing teachers: Julia Larina, Tammy Bowser, Joyce Hughes, Sarah Bond, Paula Golden, Bethanne Nemesh, David Sirota, Cyndi McChesney, Judy Gelzinis Donovan, Catherine Redford, Adele Scott

There was no stopping me now. I cannot begin to tell you how inspired I was during and after each one of these creative sessions. I could not sleep, eat, work, or play without looking at something and wonder how I can incorporate that into a quilt. Do I need my scissors to reshape it, or possibly cut around the edges? Do I need my lightbox to trace it onto fabric …, the ideas were non-stop. Between the online Quilt Shows and Facebook I was receiving new opportunities to learn different techniques on a regular basis.

One of the opportunities Facebook provided me was to join Philippa Naylor’s monthly Quilters Question Time Classes. Within the first hour I was not only hooked but was also mesmerized by her talent. The details that she brings to each one of her projects is inspiring. I think part of my admirations is due to my memories that I have when I was a little girl watching my grandmother design and create patterns from a picture. I always got excited watching her hands bring a picture to life with her creative talent. Every stitch that she made was as if it were the only stitch that mattered, and this detail could be seen in each of her final creations.

Of course, I am sure I drove her crazy wanting to constantly help her. Until one day when she sat me down at her cutting table with a pattern, a piece of material and pair of scissors and told me I needed to cut the pattern out directly on the black line. I remember when I started it seemed as if I was cutting for hours, when it was only 15 minutes. I then complained that my hands hurt because the scissors where to big and heavy. My grandmother smiled at me and told me I can complete it the next time I visit. A week later when we were on our way to Grandma’s house, I was excited to continue with my project but was anxious since her scissors were hard to hold in my little hands. After everyone said hello and we had lunch Grandma told me it is time to go back to work. On the big cutting table was my piece of fabric, the pattern and a brand-new pair of scissors that fit my tiny hands. I was not only relieved but knew I was the luckiest girl around. This simple job was the beginning of my creative expression. Over 50 years later my brother, Tom sent me a box of some sewing items that he found in my mom’s house. Much to my surprise, Grandma’s big old sewing scissors was in that box. There is not a day I do not jot down or draw and idea, take a picture or am in my sewing room creating my next masterpiece. And yes, on my cutting table is my grandmothers big old sewing scissors that begins each one of my creative projects.

Below are a two quilts that I made using Roxane's techniques.

I am still learning new techniques with amazing fiber artist. The picture above was created while being a part of Roxane Lessa’s Art Quilt weekly classes. Using a picture my youngest daughter Andrea took I learned how to make a pattern out of a photo and then transport it onto fabric. With Roxane’s guidance I decided to paint the sky, appliqued the truck, and thread painted the sunset. I free motion quilted the bottom of the quilt using various yarn to represent hay. The inspiration that came out of this class along with the friendships that have been made has been a blessing.

When my great Aunt Ninfa was in her 90’s she painted this Indian Girl for me. Along with my grandmothers, my Aunt Ninfa was responsible for teaching me that I had a natural talent in the creative arts. When others would tell me, you cannot do that – these women would tell me believe in yourself and go for it. She truly was one of the inspirational women in my life. After creating a digitized pattern, embroidering it onto a piece of fabric, I then started thread painting the details on her face. The next section, her hair, was the most difficult for me since I felt I needed it to be as realistic as possible. For this I cut small sections of doll hair and free motion quilted it onto the fabric. To replicate the original drawing I choose feathers, fringe, and suede.

how to
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.