Motivation logo

Little Black Book

$20,000 what a way to start.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Little Black Book
Photo by BENCE BOROS on Unsplash

Little Black Book

By Theresa Evans

I was walking home from work one evening; I came across something that looked like someone had lost their wallet. It didn't take me long to realize later that it was a little black book. I seriously wanted to return this book back to the owner, but I had no successful luck for weeks.

I called a mine girlfriend and asked her what I should do with the book because no one had noticed that it was missing. "Taz, why don't you just open the book up and see what is inside it," Phoenix said.

"I don't feel comfortable opening up someone else's property; that's just wrong," Taz said. "Okay, fine, then don't open the book. I will be on my way in half an hour, and we can open the book up together." Phoenix said. Taz said okay and hung up the call, and started to make dinner for herself when Phoenix came busting through the front door like her face was on fire.

Phoenix said, "Okay, sis, now where is this crazy little black book at that you are so uncomfortable with the opening?" I knew that as soon as she saw the book, she would not be able to control herself. Phoenix snatched it off the table and said a few choice words. "What is wrong with you, I said." There is nothing in this book but many numbers, and I am not good with math, so girl, maybe it was a good thing that you didn't want to open it. Phoenix said.

Girl, give me that book, but before I closed the book, I started to notice a pattern, and the design looked like lottery numbers. Of course, I didn't get too excited because I never won anything in my life, but for some odd reason, I felt abnormal after I had the book and looked at it a bit closer.

#

Two weeks went by, and I decided to go to the local 711 and play a number. Now, remember I never win anything, so I was honestly doing this for fun. And to have something extra to get under my girlfriend's skin about. Phoenix makes it so easy for me to unsettle her feathers, and we have been best friends since I was ten.

Two more weeks passed, and I never bothered to check the lottery tickets I played because I knew that they were not any winners. To be honest, I never would have prevented them if Phoenix had not mentioned it to me later on.

The next few days, I had to work, so Phoenix and I decided that on our next days off work together, we would go to our local 711 and check the out. I knew that I only played ten lottery tickets worth of numbers, but when the man said I won, I looked at him like he was crazy. "Sir, what do you mean I won?" He looked at me like I had lost my whole mind, not a piece of my mind but the entire thing. Miss you just won $20,000. I looked at Phoenix, and she looked at me, and we both were dumbstruck.

Phoenix said, "Girl, you better let that man give you the information you need so you can get your paper." I was still too stuck on stupid to even move, let alone think straight. The man handed me my ticket back and processed it to give me the address to collect my winnings. On the walk back to my place, I still couldn't believe that I had won $20,000. Phoenix was so excited that she tripped over the back on my foot at least six times, but she only remembers three. I told her that we need to make sure that this is real before getting our hopes up and doing crazy stuff.

When we got back to my place, I made sure to put my little black book in a place where only Phoenix and I would know where it was. Phoenix, I said, "under no circumstance will you tell anyone about this book because if you do, then we will be hunted for the rest of our lives. Do you hear me, sis?" "Yes, sister, I hear you, but you know I won't say anything," Phoenix said. This is precisely why I am saying it because even though you are my best friend and sister, you honestly can't hold water, but I love you." I said.

THE END

success
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.