Motivation logo

Lights at the end

Coming through the tunnel

By Katherine LovellPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4

Have you ever worked so hard on something that meant so much to you and you did not even know why? Try to imagine knowing that you have to be standing in the exact right place at the exact right moment.

Now, try to imagine that in that moment you have under 30 seconds to accomplish what it is you’ve been working so hard towards. Your goal has been the force pushing you for your entire life and you never knew it until now.

Now!

Photo taken by C. Lovell

This very moment one day before you get to show what it is your made of. One day before you get to show just how hard you were willing to work. It’s just one day before you get to show the lengths in which you were motivated to go to and to achieve this goal.

Just one day before you get to show yourself the satisfaction you derserve. Now the long awaited reward for working so hard... all in one split second...you realize you are not ready. No, definitely not ready.

Your stomach begins to lurch.

Your mouth begins to water.

Your lips get hot and dry and it feels hard to breathe.

Your recognize this feeling and can’t stop it.

Tears, big tears, start to slowly well up from a deep spot. One you could never even know that you even had inside of you. You try to hold it back but these huge tears are welling up inside of you. These tears are coming from so deep it becomes hard to breathe and then.. and then... barely breathing a burst comes flying out with force! A flurry of sobbing tears. Sobbing,snotty and the most horrible sounding tears. All of this accompanied by something like what one might call a “mild” case of hysteria.

You suddenly hear yourself and stop to watch yourself because of course no good fit is done without a mirror. Now you wonder what must the neighbors think? You continue to ponder while still staring in the mirror. Then you say out loud “why are you are making that ugly face”? Finally, it dawns on you the real reason no holds barred the actual truth... it’s what I want!

First things first, I say to myself. You must stop making that ugly face!

I start to wash off the tears and clean the mess I’ve made from water splashing in a bursting flurry of fitful face making in the mirror.

What can I do? I have come to far to just give up now? I have worked to hard to let a deadline stop me. So, I continue to finish my project with a new personal goal using the information and the existing tools I’ve worked so hard already to implement.

It takes me another two weeks to finish my project but when it’s completed I myself am impressed. I literally took a step back when I saw my hard work finally paying off.

I went ahead and submitted my project after the deadline and do you know that they were waiting for me before the final decision was made. This is one time I get to yell “woo hoo”!! I am honored to tell you that mine was chosen. It gave me a feeling of gratitude and privilege to know that the work I do was getting noticed and even sought after. Thank you so very much for the opportunity to share these most personal moments with you.

No tears this time! Wink! Wink!

Happy Goal Hunting!

success
4

About the Creator

Katherine Lovell

just another soul searcher

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Susy Williams16 days ago

    Great story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.