Motivation logo

Life is short. Buy the truck.

My first brand spanking new vehicle!

By Christa Cusack O'NeillPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
1
I LOVE LOVE LOVE my truck.... vroom... vroom ... vroom...

Life is short; buy the truck!

I am officially the proud and vivacious (high-spirited) owner of my very first brand spanking new vehicle, a 2020 Ford F150. I learned how to drive thirty-five years ago on a 1982 Ford F150 2WD 3-in-the-tree half-ton. It was an exciting time to be driving when I was just thirteen years old. My dad couldn't drive one evening, so he pulled over and said, “You’re learning how to drive right now.” So, he taught me. I managed to learn how to drive a standard after stalling several times on that old dirt back road that evening, but I did it.

This Ford truck was used for many memorable family moments, drives for ice cream, loading and unloading livestock from and to the OLD BARN, and many other farming-related uses.

I also used it to get my driver’s license on my sixteenth birthday.

Can I say FREEDOM?

My mom and dad were overly generous. I had the truck every weekend to come and go as I please. Life was so fun back then when I was just sixteen and seventeen.

After that, I used this vehicle for many things that would be considered illegal today, hauling animals in the back, mostly goats but some party animals, too... lol.

And because my parents were generous and lent me the truck every weekend, I had many friends travel with me in the cab who at that time were not required to wear seatbelts. We squeezed in as many as we could! We literally traveled everywhere and endlessly from party house to party house; it was indeed great times with great friends. I have many amusing and fond memories of driving the old Ford.

After moving out at the age of eighteen and becoming an adult, and no longer being able to sponge off my mom and dad, things were different. I was on my own, and I didn’t have a nice car for a long time.

After having children, I had to drive a minivan. As you can imagine, for someone in their 20’s and 30’s, this isn't very sexy... and is embarrassing to drive for anyone without children.

After driving my friend’s Ford this year, old memories started to swelter in (menopause and empty-nesting syndrome). I decided that I had to have that feeling again of driving a Ford half-ton. I have many emotions these days because life really passes us by, and it is also funny how we tend to go back to our roots. I’m not starting a farm or anything like that, or I won’t be searching for house parties, but my intended usage will be to travel to my parents' house, visit family and friends, weekend getaways, hauling bikes, and travel. And now I can buy my own damn furniture whenever I damn well, please. Also, I will be able to lug my son’s belongings back and forth who is away at school.

Life is great when you have peace and freedom. Peace is when you can say; I am allowed to be who I am. Freedom is when you can say I am allowed to live my dreams, not someone else's. For many years I lived the dream of a family, and I always put everyone else first. Now I get to live my personal dream of having a brand-new vehicle. Man, my truck is powerful, and I love it so much.

Now that I have my very own brand-new Ford, I am ready to make lots of new fun and fond memories. I can’t wait, and yes, LIFE IS SHORT, BUY THE TRUCK!

PLEASE LIKE MY STORY AND DONATE... I have truck payments to make!

#taylorford

#girlsdrivetruckstoo

#lifeisshortbuythetruck

#fordtrucks

#FordService

#markburrows

#greatsalesman

happiness
1

About the Creator

Christa Cusack O'Neill

CERTIFIED NARCISSISTIC TRAUMA-INFORMED COACH™ SCREENWRITER - Comedian - Award-winning - TQM Focused - Filmmaker - Mother's Point of View - Empowered Empath - Grew up on a hobby farm - Goats - Yoga - Dreamer - Cat & Heart & Water Lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.