Motivation logo

Life Is An Adventure

Live It Before It's Over!!

By Danielle LeePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Being a free spirit living in a nine to five world is stifling! The repetition the new day brings day after day, week after week, year after year..... I am unsure how people can become such creatures of habit.

Having parents who liked to party more than parent I was with my nana a lot of the time. She would take me out with her, to visit friends and family. We went to the races, lunches, dinners. Catching buses, trains and ferries and going into "town".We were always out somewhere never sitting still.

I attribute my independent free spirit and wanderlust for life to my nana. She was a way shower for her time, choosing to kick her philandering gambling addicted husband to the kerb and went out to work as opposed to staying in a marriage that was loveless and draining on her energy.

She supported and raised her three daughters on her own and they rarely saw their father. She single handedly paid off the mortgage on the house she was born in. These days a single person finds it so difficult to acquire residence renting a place on their own let alone buying a place.

With thanks and much gratitude to my nana Maisie I have grown to take chances and risks and throw caution to the wind on a regular basis.

I take road trips often on my own. When I was in another country I hired a car, I didn't have a map, a phone, a navigation system whatsoever and drove myself from one side of the country to the other and back again! The people I met, the sights I saw and the food I found to wet my taste buds in little hidden away towns were amazing!

People that know me ask me if I get scared. I trust my intuition and instincts and if it doesn't feel right I wont do it. I am an avid researcher and passionately curious which fuels my want to get out there more than any fear can stop me.

Learning to differentiate between the nervous excitement when you have chosen to do something out of the character for yourself eg: change careers when you are forty-six, buy a plane ticket and get on a plane within 3 hours not even knowing where you are going to be sleeping that night, trying something new, handing in your notice to vacate a property without having somewhere for you and your three sons to go and trusting the right place will come up in time - which it did! Those are the right things to do! That trust in yourself is an adventure!

Life is an adventure everyday when we let it be. When we take moments to get out and sit in the sun, walk barefooted in lush green grass, laughing at yourself for doing something silly, I am forever laughing at myself and shaking my head.

I missed a plane this one time (in another country), and I went to the desk to see if there were any flights home around the same time as the other airline was leaving as my son and his sporting team were leaving half an hour later.

I explained to the lady laughing at myself at how I could mix up 06.00 hours and 18.00 hours (in my defense the team itinerary said 6pm). I didn't get angry, I see that everything happens for a reason and I sure found out why that evening!

It seemed to me that the airline desk clerk was a little bit sneaky but I put it down to being busy organising my new flight home. She made a call and went out to the back office. The phone rang and she answered it and thanked the person on the other end for their time. She then went about typing ferociously in front of me. For a chatty lady she sure seemed quite non chatty now.

That lovely lady stood up behind her desk and leaned on the counter top with the ticket in her hand putting it down on the counter in front of me. She looked me in the eyes and said to me so gently "I have upgraded you to business class tonight because of your beautiful spirit". With that I was in tears. Such a beautiful gesture and seeing the experience of missing the plane as an adventure in itself had landed me (pun intended!) in business class on an A380!! In the above images the Champagne and ticket are from that adventure to remind me to stay humble and what adventure brings!!

Life is an adventure when you start to make the changes you want! You can change jobs to a more suitable lifestyle and so you have more time. You can go and explore your world and leave the housework behind - let me just tell you housework is always there! Living life is important.

Along with my inspirational work I work in a heart clinic, I see miracles and heartbreak every single day. I see people change their ways of living and prioritising what is truly important to them. Get out there before age creeps up, health issues take over or worse - death.

No Regrets!! Live before its over!!

happiness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.