Motivation logo

Life In Pandemic Times

Why I am thankful for the holidays

By Nalana PhillipsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As the Christmas season comes around once more and the year is drawing to a close, I cannot help thinking of how fortunate we have been this year. Many people have to live from day to day and do not know how they will take care of themselves or their families. I lived that life for many years before I came to Hope Gardens. So, I know how many feel in these uncertain times. I got through it, though, and landed on my feet. I know many will, too, because we are survivors.

I have to admit that I have been very fortunate this year as I never had before. I cannot explain it, but it seems that I feel very lucky in the worst year imaginable. The stimulus helped us in many ways of having extra money in the bank. I have met people this year who have positively changed my life.

So I want to take the time to say the things I am thankful for this year. I am not boasting or bragging; I am stating how appreciative I feel for the things that have happened in the time of Covid-19.

1. I am thankful for the time I have gotten to spend with my daughter. Even though I would not trade the time we have been trying at times, we have gotten to spend together because of it.

2. I have been able to work on my writing more and projects that I have never been able to finish because of lack of time.

3. I am thankful for the new friends I have made during this pandemic that I might not have gotten to know otherwise.

I am thankful for the people who have helped make sure that we are okay mentally and emotionally during this difficult time.

4. I am thankful to the people who have given me opportunities to make some extra cash to help us move on to a better living situation.

5. I am thankful for mine and my daughter's health so far this year. We have been very fortunate in not getting sick at all. (Knock on wood.)

These are the things that I am most grateful for in the time of chaos that has been our lives.

I know many people right now do not feel the same way, and many are having a hard time with the state of the word.

I can only hope that the world will go back to some normal in the coming year. I know it will never truly be the same after so much devastation, but I hope that with the new year will come healing and peace.

I know what it feels like to go through much hardship. I have been homeless on the streets a few times because of circumstances that were out of my control. I have learned how to take the good with the bad, and everything has a cycle.

Right now, we are in a world of bad, but eventually, the good will come back around. I hope this message reaches all of you out there, and many of you do not lose hope and happiness for the holidays.

Please remember to love each other even if it is from a distance. Remember to care for each other in this time of need. As I always tell my child, help do not hinder.

I wish everyone a very merry Christmas and a wonderful happy new year. I may not know you, and I might never, but I want you to know that someone cares about you even though all of us are strangers.

Take care, and we will see the new year.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Nalana Phillips

I am a single mother. I am looking to become a writer and am trying to eventually make a living from it.

I hope you enjoy anything that you read of mine.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.