Motivation logo

Life as a food service worker

Life as a food service worker

By Tanea HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s always the after effects I think. I mean the place is filled with beauty, but the after effects of the work place is my fulfillment. When I was hired to work in food service at the hospital, I was thrilled. I mean, there was this beautiful eight hour orientation in a greenhouse type room. All of the new hires watched the presentation projector closely, because we knew a test would be given shortly after. I became so excited when I learned the hospital I was working for, was ranked number one for some of the surgeries they performed worldwide. I was honored to be given a chance to be in such a prestigious place. Shortly after orientation, I was issued a badge, I mean a real work badge. The first day of work, I swiped my badge and went through the door. I passed the receptionist desk and went up the elevator to the second floor. When I entered the bagel shop it was so busy and high volume on my first day, I immediately offered assistance to my co- workers. On my first day, I hung around stations asking my co-workers question like, do you need me to slice bagels? Brew coffees? Pass out orders? Do you need me to work at the cash register? After months and then years, I shifted from a frontline cashier in the bagel shop, to a cafeteria floater and a sandwich maker. I began to love the outcomes or after effects I say, of the cafeteria, after closing. The beautiful fully stocked soda coolers. The freshly stocked milk, and yogurt coolers. Beautiful ripe banana baskets filled to the brim at every cashier stations. Fully stocked potato chips on the shelves. Sub sandwiches with visible pricing. The after effects of a high volume cafeteria is what moves me when I work. I gain so much satisfaction after closing. There is also crazy satisfaction at the bagel shop. Once the sandwich line is put back together, it resembles a beautiful garden on one side and a whipping section filled with cream cheeses and cheddar cheeses on the other side. I love the fresh, beautiful lettuce and juicy red tomatoes.

Garbage duties and mopped floors, also give the bagel shop a beautiful glow, especially in our spacious lobby. This too makes me feel satisfied and appreciated.

The finishing touches during closing, makes me feel as if I have accomplished something everyday. It makes me feel appreciated. I love having things stocked up and ready to go for the opening shift the next day. When our opening shift gets through a rush without a problem, it really keeps the high volume restaurant peaceful.

During Covid 19, me and my co-workers have strived to practice very good hygiene standards. We work hard everyday to fight off covid-19 from the outside. Everyday we practice social distancing, and mask wearing.

At one time, the hospital was a ghost town. Hospital visitation was limited. Nobody could enter without valid reason and completed questionnaires on their phone. When I got into the bagel shop, there was a temp log waiting. The once high volume restaurant was doing a quarter of it sales. During this time, I strived to find extra duties to pass time. I also took advantage of early closing hours. It felt good to go home early sometimes.

Today we have returned back to our normal high volume bagel shop and cafeteria. The social distancing has lessened, but mask wearing has remained. Today, our shipment lyfts are filled to the very top with boxes for my boss to check in, scan, and unload. And today I am able to fill my sandwich line with beautiful cream cheeses and vegetables at the bagel shop. As well as beverages in the coolers in the cafeteria when necessary. Today, I am able to see the end result or the after effects again. This makes me feel very good.

success
Like

About the Creator

Tanea Hill

http

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.