Motivation logo

Life

Just Thoughts

By Debra BernatovichPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

As I sit there watching my grandson, I wonder what he is thinking about. His little mind just going and going, where are minds are thinking about what we are going to do and how to survive this pandemic. My grandson does not have to worry about this at this moment in time. His little innocent life has no idea what has been going on, which could be a good thing. He hates wearing a mask, but does wear it. His sister who is much older and in the first grade will ask a thousand questions about why we have to wear a mask, and why she has to be home schooled through virtual school. She is very smart and has all “A’s” in her classes, but she does miss being around children her own age, which I so totally agree that she needs that interaction with children her own age besides when they all meet once a week virtually with the teacher. I will admit times have been tuff, especially where we live because our Governor won’t mandate mask wearing and will not let our mayors do it either. Our Governor and senators are so far up President Trumps ass that they don’t know how to get out. I feel like we will be one of the last states to get the vaccine, because our Governor is in Denise of the virus, it is a shame that a grown person would rather stand by a man that lies about election fraud, and other things instead of carrying about the people who voted for him, believe me I did not vote for our Governor, or senators.

I wish I could just sit back like my grandson and just wonder what’s going on instead of worrying about where ,when and how life is going to go. I like to just daydream occasionally, but it gets intrupted by having to be an adult and do adulting things. Yes, I do some adulting things even though I am disabled, I do what I can to help my daughter and her boyfriend. Our living situation is not that great, because we live with his mom, who you might say is a bit crazy, well more than a bit. There is not a day that goes by that she does not bitch about something, but my daughter and her boyfriend get to get out of the house. He works nights, and comes home and sleeps until 1:30 in the afternoon, when he gets up to go pick up my daughter from work, because she goes in by 4:45 in the morning. They come back and change there clothes and then head to my middle sons house until he has to go to work and she comes back, and goes to bed. They go to my sons house to hang with their friends and eat dinner. Where as I stay in my room with my puppy Mole all day and all night except to use the only one bathroom in the house. My life is not very exciting any more, I used to like to go out and sit at the park or at the mall, but since the pandemic my daughter has been keeping me quarantine in the house unless I have a doctors appointment.

Thanksgiving I actually was able to go to my sons house where we cooked the dinner. I actually got to spend a few days only because the plumbing was not working at the house and I was about to yell at my daughters mom, because she kept saying she was broke, but could order pizza to eat, and get food delivered to her. The lies were killing me and I was ready to blow, so I got my daughter and her boyfriend to go stay at my son’s house where we could take a decent bath with jets that felt so good on my back. His house was a bit hot, but I lowered the temperature at night so I could sleep. We brought the two felines and my puppy with us and the first few night the felines kept hissing at HB, my sons cat who is an old man, but one day he and the kittens were chasing each other around the house and actually playing, but the funniest thing was when HB charged at the puppy for no reason, and swatted him on the nose, HB, did not bring out his claws so there was no damaged done to the puppy.

Life has changed so much that I wish things would go back to normal, but what is normal. I don’t mind wearing masks, but what bothers me the most is when a eye doctor that my daughter and grandkids saw the other day does not believe in masks and said we did not have to wear them if we did not want to, and he would wear one if we asked him to, really, he may not be a medical doctor but he is a doctor who sees many patients to give eye exams and is in close vicinity of his patients, less than six feet in distance, all he other individuals in the eye care center in Walmart wore masks. It’s individuals like this that can pass the virus to his patients because he does not believe in masks. It makes you think about ho he voted for. People need to listen to the scientists because they are the ones that are trying to save the lives of the American people, but then you have some of these swallow minded individuals that are not believers, it’s just ignorance on there part.

Do you every think what people are thinking about, or what they would rather be doing instead of doing what they are doing know? I would just like to know what some of these individuals are thinking about, that is why I loved going to sit in the park or the mall to people watch, but now all I see is the backyard from my room and think about what the squirrels and birds are thinking about, or that one lonely lizard is thinking about. Yes I don’t have much of a view at the moment. But you can only imagine how life is going to be in the future when there is nothing else to do. I do diamond art, or read a good book, besides watch MSNBC, all day until one of my shows come on in the evening. My life is what you can say boring, but at one time it used to have excitement in it.

For all those who think this is the end until we are free from the viruse, think positive, and try to get out for a little bit even if it is just a short walk outside your house or apartment, get some fresh air, smell the flowers, or feel the crisp cool air since winter is upon us, or maybe see the leaves changing which is really beautiful especially up north where I am originally from. Smellin the smoke coming from peoples fire place, and walking on the fresh snowed ground and here that squcky noise under your feet, or making snow angles and trying to figure a way up without messing up the angle. Then coming inside and getting a hot cup of cocoa to get warm, with lots of marshmallows.

I wish everyone Happy Holidays, be safe, wear a mask when going out and social distance. Don’t travel unless you have to. Spend the holidays in a safe way, even if it is with your close family member’s already in the house, don’t risk having others over this year, think positive about 2021, with a vaccine getting ready to be distributed to everyone, things will start becoming the new normal. Be patient, be safe, stay healthy, and get vaccinated when you can. The life you may be saving is your own.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.