Motivation logo

Legendary Poetry: Where is my mind?

By Legend Gilchrist

By Legend GilchristPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Legendary Poetry: Where is my mind?
Photo by Tayla Jeffs on Unsplash

Where is my mind?

Where is my mind? Where could it have possibly have gone? I remember having it once. Now it is gone. Far gone. Far, far away never to be found again. My mind is a distant memory to me. To be honest, I don't ever remember having a mind. Ever. And ever, and ever, Amen.

Sure, there was a time when I used to have a mind. At least I think there was such a time. I can't be sure because, I don't know that I ever had a mind ot begin with. People tell me that I lost my mind and I think that they might be right about it because I don't have a mind. I must have lost it somewhere, someplace, somewhere, etc. etc. etc. Amen.

I remember a time when I MIGHT have had a mind. That was a long, long time ago in a place and time that I can barely remember. It was a in a place where I don't live in anymore, in a place where I am not welcome anymore, among people who don't like me and who don't want me in their precious presence because those people, unlike me, have minds, good minds, thinking minds, rational and stable minds unlike me.

My mind, if I, in fact, have a mind is twisted and sick, mentally ill, distorted and imperfect in every way. Let's just assume that I lost my mind somewhere along the way and that's for the best bcase people like me don't deserve minds like THEY do and that's the way it should always be. So, the fact that I lost my mind is a good thing. A very good thing, indeed. Indeed, a good thing. Indeed.

Let's jus assume that I actually had a mind and that my mind was a good thing and that everything was hunky dory with my mind and that all was good ith the universe and that the stars were aligned and that all good people where happy and joyful as a result of the fact that I had mind. Do you follow me or am I demonstrating the fact that I don' actually have a mind if this makes sense? What is my point in all of this? Not even I know because, you see, I lost my mind ages and ages ago, can we agree to this fact?

Of course we can. You are super duper intelligent and I sm not the sharpest tool in the shed. I have no mind and this much is true, surely you the reader can determine this fact, can't you? You don' need an advance degree or specialized training to determine this do you? Of course not, ladies and gentlemen of the jury and Your Honor. I urge you to convict the author of this pom to a lifetime sentence of being without mind.

Bu surely there was a time when I had a min? Surely the fact that I lost my mind is fact enough that I once possessed a mind, or am I incorrect in assuming so? Is it all filth and rot that I should make a wild and inglorious assumption about the presence of said min? Or am I just living pathically in a fools paradise to assume that I once had a mind? I am so confused by this line of reasoning that I wish that I had a mind to ponder such divine thoughts.

Let us assume for only just a momen that I ACTUALLY had a mind and that it ACTUALLY existed, if you will. Please be patient with me as I may just have a point in all of this stuff and nonsense. Let us also content that maybe, just maybe, I had a functioning mind at one point of time. Given this, perhaps, just perhaps, a mind was given to me by some higher power so that I might live a life so complete and good that even if I lost my mind, I would exist with the knowledge of a time when I had a mind and that those were good times, indeed. Good times. Indeed.

But I have high hopes that somewhere beyond the horizon my mind my return and that a chapel bel will ring aloud for all to hear that my mind has finally returnd from a time when time took my dreams away, from a life when my said mind was consumed away when the grass was greener, when my life was brighter, when my life was sweeter, with friends surrounding, the dawn mist glowing, the water flowing, the endless river growing forever and ever, and my life was filled with joy so full that I knew no sadness. A time when when my mind was complete, happy, and full. Etc. etc. etc. Amen.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Legend Gilchrist

I am a retired English teacher. I have been writing for 27 years. I live in the Palm Springs area of Southern California. I am a poet, writer, and novelist. I enjoy writing about rock music culture. I hope to write for Rolling Stone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.