Motivation logo

Know your Worth

believe In Yourself

By Bonita GordonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Sometimes it will take someone else to believe in you for you to stop not believing in yourself.

What am I Most thankful for? I am thankful to have a job and not just any job I help my community and those outside my community. As I got older, I learned to appreciate being used in an industry where I can make a difference I also learned to not get too comfortable in any position because it could be taken away at any moment. A couple of years ago I was working as a customer service representative first call center job ever. At the time I had been on my job for almost 2 years I started as a contractor and got hired on within 5 months.

I was chosen for the work at home experiment, was on my way to being promoted I was doing great! Even though I felt I was being underpaid in my position I stayed, because I loved what I did I loved my job. One day we all received a mass email they decided to move our site this was not a surprise this decision was made before I even started working there, but we were all looking forward to it everyone and excited. I went to the scheduled open house where they showed us our seating charts and allowed us to tour the new building, then the next day my department had a team meeting.

In so many words, they told us we were all fired. I was in shock I did not see that coming. How could they I thought am I dreaming I thought but come to find out they just wanted to save money? We did nothing wrong they overspent with the renovation so they had to do something. They had many other locations spread out Nationwide but our department was the smallest group so that's why they chose us. I was so angry, so hurt I felt so betrayed all I could do was cry. But I decided to not let this get the best of me I filled out other job applications I made profiles on other job search platforms even started my own website it didn't last that long but it kept me busy and gave me that bit of experience.

So about a month after losing that position I was blessed with a new position, I learned that sometimes in life we experience certain things or we come across certain people or even be put in certain situations and it's all designed to help us in our life journey. I told myself it was not meant for me to keep that job forever that job was put in my path to give me that experience under my belt, other people who worked with me had health issues that job allowed them the health benefits to allow them to get the medical help they needed. So losing that job even though it felt like betrayal, I realized it wasn't betrayal it was just a stepping stone to something greater. So anyway, I start the new position as a contractor and I had to sign a one-year contract.

On the first day it was explained to us that even though we signed a one-year contract that does not mean that our position will end in one year, it will continue to be renewed every year based on our performance. It wasn't until later I would say maybe about six months into this new position that I realized the way things were being operated in this department was not fair at all. And then later they went back on every single last word that they told us in the beginning because now they no longer want to have contractors they want everyone to be full-time employees. So the process was we had to apply if you get approved you're hired on if you don't get approved you lose your job and I'm thinking to myself well I applied once before for this position that I'm working and you guys passed on me before without giving me a valid reason.

So I pondered on whether I wanted to put myself through that again. Throughout my time working there I continue to fill out job applications and apply for other positions because no one wants to be a contractor through a temp service at least I didn't especially with them because the contractors got treated differently and we didn't have access to the same things that the full-time employees had access to. Later on that day I had a missed call, so during my break I checked my voicemail and it was a message to return a call to an employer I had applied for about 6 months earlier. I immediately returned the phone call, but I was expecting them to say that I was wanted for a second interview but right away she told me I was chosen for the position. I was in shock I was not expecting that at all and to be honest I was for sure I blew my first in-person interview and my telephone interview. I accepted the position, and this was in 2019 I still work that position today. So my reason for reflecting on my past is so you would understand why I am so thankful for my present.

I love my new position and I am so grateful for having this job because when everybody else said no you're not good enough, no thank you I'll pass, or we no longer need your services this job believed in me and gave me a chance. I now work for a company that is so professional and everyone is treated equal, it doesn't matter who you know or who likes who you're judged solely based on your performance. This position gave me my confidence back it allowed me to believe in myself again and let me know it wasn't me that was the problem. Working in this position not only allows me to provide for my family, but it also allows me to play a very important role in helping my community.

goals
1

About the Creator

Bonita Gordon

M

My name is Bonita I work as a customer service rep. My long-term goal is to become an entrepreneur. A fun fact about myself is that I know how to work on cars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.