Motivation logo

Just Have Fun, Man.

Be Happy

By Connor WarmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Sometimes I rub people the wrong way. Not everybody likes me and what I do and I accept that. It comes with everything I'm trying to do. If I let it get to me I would simply be wasting energy that I could be applying elsewhere in more impactful ways. But I also feel like people misunderstand me a little bit and everything that I'm about. They say I try too hard and take things a little too far sometimes. I often get the question "Well, why can't you just be normal?". Don't get me going on that one, please. Different topic for a different day.

Anyway, if you look past all of the early morning wake-up calls and long, grueling tests that I put myself through there's a guy who just likes to joke around and have fun. I try to keep the mood light in everything I do. Whether the situation is actually funny or not I believe that humor can get you through just about anything. In fact, there were numerous times growing up that I would get in trouble for smiling or laughing when getting yelled at or disciplined for some shenanigans. People joke all the time that if I joined the military, the instructors would have a field day with my tendency to smile and laugh in serious situations. I believe that life is simply too short to walk around like Oscar the Grouch. Even when things suck and I want to be doing literally anything else I always try to get through it with a smile. Because a smile is powerful. It has much more influence than I think any of us can truly understand. I always say that you never know who you're going to impact and when. You don't want to make a bad impression on someone simply because you were having a bad moment in your day.

Just because things might suck doesn't mean you can't smile! If you learn to embrace the suck and the present pain and still be able to smile through it imagine how much impact that would have on you personally. Now, imagine what that would do to your opponent in competition. I'm telling you that you would mess with them way more than any mean "game face" you could ever put on. It's easy to fake a mean tough "game face" but it's much harder to fake a real genuine smile. One of the greatest compliments someone can give me is no compliment at all really. It's the question "Why do you smile so much?"

I often think to myself "What, do they wish I wasn't so happy all the time?"

A lot of people and society as a whole would probably say I don't have a whole lot to be happy about. In terms of "success and wealth" as our modern-day society puts it I don't amount to much. Yet, here I am today the happiest I've ever been because I'm in a place I love, meeting some awesome new people, going on adventures, having wonderful experiences, and building something I'm proud of. What's not to love about that?

The moral of the story today is just to be happy. You don't always have to be having the time of your life to be happy either. Train yourself to enjoy the moment you're in no matter what you're going through. Slow down each day and be thankful for the moment you're in right now. Because that moment is gone in a flash and you'll never get it back. If you learn to smile even in the hard times then there will be nothing out there that can ever stop you.

As Buddy the Elf said "I love smiling. Smiling is my favorite!"

Be like Buddy.

Get After It.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Connor Warman

A CrossFit Coach and Podcaster's perspective on life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.