Motivation logo

Jimmy The Brave Mouse

Trust is earned not bought.

By RayPatsonPublished about a year ago 12 min read
1
Jimmy The Brave Mouse
Photo by Frenjamin Benklin on Unsplash

All I ever wanted was to be loved by humans just like the dogs and cats were loved unconditionally. My name is Jimmy and kind has always been known to be petite thieves stealing cheeses from the left overs of humans, chopping up clothes and chairs own by our masters, but all we ever wanted was to feed and survive not with a clear intention of destruction. I overheard my friends master from a block away shouting saying " These rats in my house are so wicked they chopped up my feet while i was asleep without leaving any trace" of course humans( our masters) will always say we are wicked, my friend told me a day earlier before the incident he said and i quote "My masters noticed me eating up the crumbs from the dinning floor i almost lost my life that day and they later kept all the cheese and food locked in the freezer how can we survive?". Of course all my friend Paul and his family wanted was to survive eating any available food they saw. But it never justifies that most of our selfish hunger actions are great but we are living things too just like our masters aren't we?

MY WISHES TO LIVE IN NEVER-LAND GOT ME HUNTED.

Living in Never-land in my mind.

One Sunday morning on our normal morning exercises with my friend Paul, look at that lucky cat Paul i said she is very lucky to be loved by her master she is treated like a queen served milk in a special bowl and she even have a toilet of her own I wish I had a master who do not only see me as a thief I said. Come on Jim said Paul wake up and smell the roses, why on earth do you think they love her so much? they love her and give her all she needs because she will be kind enough to hunt and kill the thieves in the kitchen and tiny holes in the house wake up they hunt us Jim. and I replied yeah i know Paul but think about it this way cats living in peace with rats in their masters house no fighting, no thief tag no war just peace and harmony just imagine how beautiful that would be Paul. And Paul said "yes it would be beautiful but it's impossible Jim stop daydreaming on a Sunday morning as sunny as today". In my mind I said someday I will unite our kinds and live forever happy in never-land. Come on Jim lets go i smell a delicious cheese far ahead then we left.

Later on in the day I went back home when my mom and dad were fighting over a piece of cheese sad and all sunk in thoughts on how to become loved by my masters and walk freely without being chased was my biggest worries and not their cheese. From that moment my priorities changed and all I was hungry for was far bigger than me but i was determined and sure it was possible to have a life filled with love from our masters and our hunters the Cats not just for me but for my entire kind.

I drafted my first plan to gain the trust of my masters and decided to show them they could trust me and i set out on a dangerous yet a worth trying adventure. There am I in the kitchen going against the animal farm rule standing on my two legs holding a small piece of broccoli as green as the forest trying to give it to my masters daughter as a sign of friendship and there she goes shouting "Haaaaaaaah mummy rat holding a broccoli at me cat get him" I had no choice but to flee in protection of my life. fighting my way out of the main building into the tinny passage meant for the third-world creatures like myself disgusting enough for the cat to venture in. breathing heavily and there goes Paul who was waiting for me all the time and he said "Jimmy breathe breathe, what is wrong?" I tried being friendly to my masters daughter but she called the kitchen keeper uncle cat on me i almost lost my life Paul I said.

Come on Jim said Paul I have told you we will never get the love you dream of from our masters nor from the cats who wants us dead at every command given, I know Paul but something has to be done to change the way you, me and our kind are being looked on like nothing but thieves.

Paul being my best friend was very sad because I almost lost my life and offered me to spend sometime at his house to eat some cheese he had picked from the trash and we left for his house feeling sad and defeated on my first try.

Uncle cat and children after Jimmy

JIMMY AND UNCLE CATS DAUGHTER TALKING.

Feeling nothing but disappointment from my first adventure got me even interested to achieve more.

Looking outside my tiny window into the kitchen seeing the masters daughter playing with uncle cats kittens was one of the most amazing things i had ever seen. unconscious of anything going on around me at that moment there goes Uncle cats daughter April looking at me but she never did attacked that left me speechless and hungry to know why in the black book of the Cats council didn't she attack a free cup of milk reward from killing me.

Two days has gone by and still thinking of the incident, while walking along the downtown hole-way I saw a gorgeous cat crying curious I approached isn't that April I said of course she was the one crying and without even thinking or caring about the risk involved I approached her, what is making you cry April? I said I was instructed by my dad (uncle cat) to hunt rat as a sign of my initiation into the hunters clan i do not want to kill anyone she said.

There goes my adrenaline pumping into my system that i go so frightened and couldn't hold back but ask her are you going to kill me? No dummy i won't kill you she said, with a deep sigh i said okay and i fully approached her padding her back do not worry we are not bound to be what our parents or kinds are I believe someday the cats our masters and the rats will all live as one big happy family I said. She leaned on me and we talked a little longer and I asked her was that the reason why you never chased after me the other day in the masters kitchen? Yes she said. We became good friends and went out into the park hidden of course talked a lot more and I started feeling strange that was a feeling i had never had my entire life, anytime I looked into her eyes it shinned as bright as the stars and I was all lost in the moments. Do you have a girlfriend she asked surprised and blabbing "No I d d d don't" asking same and she gently said No with the sweetest of voice ever then I knew I had found love.

Four weeks has gone by since we started talking as friends and not even my best friend Paul knew about it, of course Paul found something strange about me but of course as a strong headed mouse i would always say I'm okay nothing is wrong I just decided to be happy these days I always said to him.

I think I am in love I said to Paul, great I am very happy so who is the lucky cute mouse? said Paul, confused on what to tell him "you will know about her when the time is right" I said to him.

Paul asking Jimmy about his strange behaviors.

Few hours later I gave April our usually meeting signal and she got it we met in the park. I think i found love with this beautiful girl, "nice!" she said who is she hope she is as beautiful as i am? of course she is and she is you I said. Happy but scared she was because she didn't want me to get hurt by her father and siblings. I love you so much that i don't want to lose you she said and there goes my short confident self always ready to defend what i believe saying "do not worry April I will always be careful and of course I have you by my side and that's all that matters to me". That brought the smiling sun from her face. Finally, my destiny was gradually making sense and I loved her as much as I loved my destiny and desires to bring peace to our kinds.

Jimmy and April in love

JIMMY SUMMONED BY THE COUNCIL OF RATS

Dad came back home very worried saying Jim what have you done this time around? I was confused because the secret of I and April was indeed a secret not even a soul knew about it, what do you mean dad I said, the rat informant was roaming the forest and he claims he saw you talking in a friendly way with one of the cats our supposed cats is that true he asked? I confined in my dad and mom the truth. Yes, he is right but what is wrong with talking to a cat in a friendly way it isn't like I am plotting a coup on the rat leaders or leaking an important secret like the council meeting location it was just mere friendly talk dad I said. A mere talk you said? we the rats have always been the underdogs and mistreated by the masters and cats for generations do you think you are some hero to change history? now you are being summoned by the rat council and everyone is very angry Jim. Now worried and skeptical on what the outcome might be there goes Paul running into the house, Is it true Jim said Paul, Yes I was with April the uncle cats daughter and I love, what? said Paul you mean your mystical lover was April a cat? there I go with a confident yes again.

Now that you have to face the furious council what are you going to do? Paul asked, I do not know but no matter the outcome promise you won't stop being my best friend Paul, You are my best friend and I can't stop having your back regardless Jim I got you we parted with smiles and ready to encounter a sad punishment.

The Council day

Young Jimmy in the council of rat elders.

This is going to be it I said to myself entering the council mansion, behold I saw a huge crowd of mice i had never seen before then I realized how serious the code I had broken was. step into the box of judgement Jimmy Orleans said the lord supreme of all council houses. I got into the box ready to accept any punishments sent my way but what i wasn't willing to accept was the fact that my vision of making our kind loved rejected and damned.

There goes the numerous questions on questions and i defended myself every step of the way. Then the Lord asked a relevant question that suited my ego he said "do you think you will be the first mouse to break our curse of hatred from our masters?" It's not in my power to liberate us from the bondage of slavery my lord but there's nothing impossible to achieve if you truly try. Then I gave an open question to the audience and the lord included;

there were two brothers who both wanted to achieve favor from their father so bad they did everything right every other day. Brother A was the eldest and he focused on doing everything he was assigned perfectly hence pleasing his father but brother B did same but not as perfect as the later, yet he had the balls to confront his father with a request to promote him to a manager of the enterprise and after a careful review his father granted his wishes, now even not being as efficient as his older brother he was the manager and could now assign tasks to his brother. My question is will you get change if you are not hungry for one and go to fetch one for yourself? answer this question and find peace council.

The council of course felt challenged and gave me a two days hard punishment in the locker room of the old rat assembly as smelly and dirty as it sounds. of course i paid the price and served my two days of punishments.

Few days passed and my passion to achieve my believes increased and i started monitoring the house to find any little help to render to my masters.

THE GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY.

Once again i got to meet up with the love of my life who rather seemed very sad, what is bothering you my love I asked, my master has been involved in a land dispute and they have been all very sad at home and the house isn't as lively as it used to be I just wished everything would go back to the way they were. she said. What is your mater planning on doing then about it?

My master has invited his adversary to the house for a talk over dinner the family is to meet my master family at my masters dining section today by four PM she said. Although i wasn't having the right feeling about their meeting I told my love everything would be fine and back to normal and she felt relived.

I was at my hideouts in the kitchen where the foods for the dinner where been kept watching over it even though not employed to do so but i felt it was the right thing to do.

The masters invitees arrived and they were five in number two big boys a girl and the parent. They majestically walked into the building smiling and willing to make peace but not all smiling face carries a smiling heart.

The I was in the Kitchen and 10 minutes to the time for the dinner to be served there goes one of the big boys approaching the kitchen with a portion in his hands he poured it into the supposed dish meant for the master. no one saw that incident but I. If nothing is been done the master would be dead and the land will of course belong to the later.

I had no choice but to talk Paul and April into helping the quest lucky they agreed.

Now I was not the only one on the move for a rescue mission but i got the two people who meant a lot to me although knowing that i might lose my life in the process but it was worth trying.

The dining is all set and the peace treaty signed now comes the time for feasting and something needs to be done. We had to come up with a plan as fast as possible. And I said i will risk my life on it so April you will chase me into the dinning willing to kill me and i would try my best to stop the master from taking his first sip from the poisoned soup. Okay lets get it said April and Paul.

What will you do when a scary looking mouse suddenly stepped in front of you looking furious?, of course panic will hit your nerves immediately.

Master was almost sipping his first spoon of the poison soup and from the corner there goes April pursuing me uncle cat and his children were amazed as they became proud April finally is doing her duty as a war lord hunting and killing rats the both the family on the other hand were entertained by it and the master luckily dropped his spoon without a sip watching. I was chased round the dining and I jumped as high as i could throwing away the masters soup to the ground, just when uncle cat was about intervening to kill me there goes the invitee's cat feeding on the poison soup and instantly died of course it rose eye brows and brought to the awareness of the master that he was about to be poisoned by the visitors and he immediately stopped uncle cat from eating me up and drove the family out of his house and sued them to court for attempted murder.

As a sign of appreciation the master announced to all the cats i his house not to or chase any mouse but cherish them like guardians too. The master even took the situation to the TV stations and it was aired live to the entire city of new Orleans gradually the love for rats spread through out the city and to the world for such bravery not just by me but Paul and April too.

Returning to my clan they all gathered to welcome me as a hero standing on a layered tower with my hand spread out eyes closed they all cheered at me with such love for the first time suddenly i missed my step and fell and everyone was quite thinking i had hurt myself yet i stood up with great strength and the cheer continued.

Rats became very happy after Jimmy the little hero liberated them.

Always believe in your dreams no matter how small the chances are or how tiny you may look go for it.

self helpbook review
1

About the Creator

RayPatson

I'm a song writer, singer and producer. making music has been my life's struggle yet giving up isn't an option. Join me lets create stories and screen plays together too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.