Motivation logo

Jake’s Take

A Food Truck Quest

By Jacob FryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Jake of Jake’s Take and Fitzgerald (actually my sisters dog)

“Fitz come on! Fitzgerald, let’s go!” My sister had just gotten a new puppy and he was not well trained yet. I was on walk duty today, and needless to say, he would not listen to me. “Fitz, I’m giving you one last chance to get out from that bush” I said sternly to him, like he’s actually going to listen. To my surprise, he did. He jumped out of the bush wagging his tail and looked at me with those big eyes I just can’t get too mad at, but he had this small piece of dirty yuck in his mouth. “Oh Fitz, come on mate” I said grabbing this dirty piece of leather, that looks like a journal, out of his mouth. “Fitz this isn’t yours mate, leave it” I said tossing it back behind the bush, my hands dirty and not wanting to deal with whatever he had just uncovered. As it hit the ground in a cloud of dirt, I saw golden lettering “open me” on the cover and a wrinkled envelope fell out. I looked at Fitz, he looked at me, maybe it’s just that a dog always looks curious but something in Fitz’s look was telling me I needed to open that journal. Taking advice from a dog, unorthodox yes, but nevertheless I grabbed the journal and the envelope and stuck it in my back pocket, I figured I’d look at it later, I had a dog to finish walking and my sister is very strict about her puppy’s walks.

“Congratulations! You have found my hidden journal. Inside, you will find an envelope with $20,000 in it. The money is yours, but you must promise me one thing, follow your dream. -T.L.D.” The rest of the pages are blank. I open the envelope, and sure enough, $20,000 in cash. “Surely this must be a mistake” I mutter to myself unable to comprehend what has happened today as I open my computer to Google this T.L.D. person. All I could find was some internet techie definition that made no sense and a few companies I had never heard of. I call my friends to try and make sense of what happened. “Bro, this is your chance! Start that food truck of your dreams… how cool is this!” One of them said. As soon as he said it, I could kind of see it, “Jake’s Take: Sustainability, Community, and Quality.” So I flipped a page in that little black book and I started writing, a menu, a list of groceries I needed, and a plan.

The next morning I woke up, grabbed a buddy and headed off to a little dealership where I found a used food truck online the night before. We got there to find a old worn out truck, but the bones were good and that is what mattered. A little TLC and it would be as good as new! We hosed down the outside, scrubbed it practically to death, and gutted the inside, a hard days work but Jake’s Take was taking shape. The next day was equipment day; we picked out a flat top, a fryer, a few low boys, and finished it off with a nice grill and some panini presses. Less than a week later, everything was hooked up, clean, and a fresh paint job was on the outside. All that was left was a quick trip to the grocery store and this baby was ready to roll.

There is something about flipping on your burners and sharpening your knives for the first time that is almost therapeutic for a chef. I looked at my souls-chef, flashed a smile and knew it is time to open, for the very first time. I slipped the little black book under the drivers seat, a sign of good luck, and Jake’s Take is officially open for business.

goals
2

About the Creator

Jacob Fry

An aspiring chef talking about all things restaurants, food, and booze. And maybe some food photography. Everything I make is to one day open my own restaurant. Thanks for your support and being a part of my journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.