Motivation logo

"It's Ok... You Can Come Out Now..."

A Better Day After Quarantine

By Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
"It's Ok... You Can Come Out Now..."
Photo by Henry Be on Unsplash

Nowhere in my young life did I ever expect to be living during a pandemic. Being quarantined to stay healthy hasn't been the issue. What it's truly been is an inconvenience. My days were no different than what they are now, the only difference is that I can't just pick up and go wherever I want to at the moment. I can honestly say that this little shutdown has been more beneficial than not. Money has been saved, life re-calibrated, my future looks brighter, and I've taken steps in a new direction to make sure I am being true to myself in many areas of my life. I needed this space to find myself again, no question about that.

About the 7th week into this shutdown, the reality hit that once this whole thing blows over? I will live the rest of my life under no restrictions. I used to find reasons not to go out. Every extroverted/introvert knows how it is. You want to do something fun and exciting after work on a Friday night but by the time you get home a nice shower, those oh-so comfy pajamas, and a movie on the couch is where it's at! Yeah.... Not after this quarantine. It's all about saying yes to the invite and going through with that yes without a second guess.

The First Day of Freedom

I am going to make a trip to my favorite candle shop and buy up every delicious scent that I can. Being able to walk into a mall is going to feel a bit surreal but just being able to smell the scent of clothing and pretzels upon entering is going to give me all of the feels! After buying up a surplus of candles, the next stop is hitting my favorite bbq spot for a black bean burger with a side of deep grilled asparagus and smoked mac and cheese. I've been doing the best I can to eat a more vegetarian diet and this place makes options super easy while enjoying that delicious, fresh off the grill taste.

With a full belly and satisfied soul, I plan to visit my mom and dad to have a few laughs and get all of my hugs. The quarantine enhanced something I already knew when it comes to human interaction. It's a necessity. We can be as introverted as we want to be but at the end of the day, compassion, friendships, love, and kindness are what we need to survive life. It makes me grateful to be able to say I have parents that I can visit to share this with. I'm sure they'll go off on tangents about the news, arthritis, and doctors appointments but it's worth it.

Maybe I'll see my friends during my first day adventure but, I honestly want to take the time to get re-acclimated to this new "life after quarantine" and just make it a day of the things that make me smile. With that said, it's time to take myself on a much needed movie date! My love of being in the movie theater has been deeply missed during quarantine. The drool worthy scent of popcorn creeping through the cracks of the theater doors before you walk in, the busy lobby with little kids running around excited to watch their favorite superhero, and the couples that hold hands as they walk into a romantic comedy or well awaited horror film seems like a past life. I am beyond excited to be able to into those wonderful doors once again.

The Wind Down

At the end of the day, it will be time for a hot shower and a journal session. This day will be one of the most beautiful days I've had of my earthly existence. Any time I feel down or need a quick reminder of how precious life is, I will be able to open that space in my journal and remember how I felt on this day: joy, happiness, peace, and full gratitude. I will light one of my beautiful candles from my favorite candle shop, and hop in my bed with my freshly washed sheets, and give thanks for being able to enjoy the little things that quarantine placed on hold.

I may even munch on the rest of my burger meal from earlier that day and call my mom and dad just to let them know I made it home safe. I may read a book, or watch a re-run of my favorite t.v. show as the day comes to a close. I just know that this day will be one of the best days of my life.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.