Motivation logo

It is hard as hell, but possible, too

It is hard as hell, but possible, too

By Simmer OliPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
It is hard as hell, but possible, too
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

Do you know the days once you can feel nothing in the least , but also feel sad and find yourself feeling empty and empty? Yup, i do know that story well. it's always been so, but especially now.

I currently sleep in Edinburgh for 3 months, alone, with no family and, honestly, no friends. I came here to try to to an internship and admittedly , once I arrived, i assumed it might be the foremost amazing time in my life - a replacement town to explore, a replacement culture, new colleagues at work, and more people that could become my friends, even good boys who might be something more. I know, I'm a dreamer! But it's possible, a minimum of the entire exploring the town and meeting children is a component of it.

Unfortunately on behalf of me , nothing clothed to be what I expected. To sum it up in one sentence: I came here to try to to some laboratory work and ended up not going there directly . My supervisor didn't give me any guidance. I had no real McCoy to try to to for weeks, no jobs, no schedule. i used to be robbed and rented an area . the sole two people i do know are my friends, I can see once every fortnight , size, and clearly i used to be pocket money like hell .

So, honestly, I ended up feeling like shit. Not that i used to be the primary to feel this manner (as often as 187,329th), but i do not know why. Everything that went wrong, in my head, appeared to be my only fault and totally. That went on thus far , so far, to be completely honest with you. I still struggle with the sensation of guilt, but a couple of weeks ago I just awakened and thought I needed to try to to something to vary the bad experience i used to be having. Until then, i might occupy home on the weekends, sometimes even on weekends because my boss didn't care if I showed up at the office or not, I didn't lookout of myself the way I should, and that i always pretended I didn't care about anything, obviously, I didn't.

But at some point I awakened and it wasn't enough. i noticed that I deserved better than I could find here during this beautiful city and deserved better behavior. So, I got my ass out of bed (just to urge a notebook, my mood swings were slow), I picked up a pen, and began making an inventory - which I find quite relaxing now (I know, NERD!).

So, I made tons of various lists and wrote down everything that involves mind immediately and ended up reviewing it every few days, or once a week… Yes, the primary list I wrote was “Why are you wish me? “It could seem sort of a pretense, but i used to be convinced that I needed to desire i used to be at some point in my life. So, let me start with something simple. I wrote “lips” and “eyes.” Then i assumed deeply. Anything about my character i assumed was good. I wrote "be straight / honest" and "like." I even have written a couple of other things, but i feel you understand what i'm trying to mention .

The next list was “Kiss Ass / Boss Actions,” during which I aimed to document situations where I had certain behaviors that I enjoyed or a flash that made me stronger. I also started with small things, like “getting a professorship from Professor Joaquim for an English presentation,” “having the courage to urge a tattoo” for “having the courage to place myself first after ending with Jorge”, and eventually “separating my cousin from Filipe in their war. ”Little or no circumstances, it had been a time once I felt i used to be at the verge of collapse .

The next one I remember well because it had been one among the simplest and most fun things to try to to , the “Hobbies.” It included things I loved to try to to with my friends and family, like "going to the movies" or "going to the cafeteria," but also things I loved to try to to alone and ended up forgetting about "skiing," "walking within the park," "reading a book while drinking a cup of tea," then on. …

I ended up with five or six different lists and this last one was one among the toughest . it had been "Mistakes and shortcomings," which i ultimately changed the name to 2 weeks after "Improve." As for this, it had been the toughest , most painful, and longest thing I ever did. It also started with my appearance (and i feel I had a couple of pounds of fat, it had been easy to seek out things to write down on) . stupid "and others i might wish to say no…

This, while it's going to seem strange, is extremely painful to read after exploding and writing everything that came out of my head. So I learned everything, and that i decided I needed to rest. I got out of bed, visited the toilet , and came back… I read it and sometimes I found myself making a final list. This one was during a completely new paper and was entitled “What i would like to Do…” it had been divided into three separate sections “next year,” followed by “how are you able to get there?” and “… five years.”

In this case, I didn't write casually. i used to be thinking hard about everything i used to be getting to write before I did. It describes itself well. After reading my mistakes, i started to write down down what I wanted to try to to to counteract those mistakes. So, in… next year, I wrote things like, “do another internship”, “start my Masters degree,” “finally finish my Bachelors degree,” “take my driver's licence ,” “work harder,” “Having a plan” and things like that. Next thereto , I listed simple habits or strategies that would help me achieve those goals: “save money,” “have a summer job,” “go to the gym,” then on…

At “… in five years,” I became confused and ended up making some quite bucket. i do know I'm stupid, don't judge me please! I wrote something

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.