Motivation logo

Impossible Dream

Pursue The Impossible

By LATANYA N CHATFIELDPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Olya Kobruseva on Pexels.com

I have loved for many years what I saw as an impossible dream. I loved helping people, so I thought I should work in the medical field. I spent 15 years helping people on various levels in the health system. That career offered benefits, bonuses, growth, knowledge, and validation for my degree in Health Administration. I met great people along the way. I saw tragedies in the young and old communities. I asked myself many days if this is the way I wanted to serve. Getting and extra blanket because a patient was cold. Serving families lunch and dinner while they wait for their loved ones to come out of a 6 or 12-hour surgeries. Helping a patient understand their insurance policy so that they can choose the best treatment plan. Informing a patient that they can be put on a payment plan to pay for their heart procedure. Explaining why the patient was approved or denied for complex treatments for their child. This was all fulfilling a service in its timeframe, but I still loved my impossible dream.

Like so many I was told if what I dreamed of doing was not something that could produce an immediate tangible income. Then I should keep my "day job" or find a day job. Deep down inside my day job was swirling around what I really loved to do in my mind. That impossible dream.

Little by little I gained more confidence in my “day job” and became less confident in my impossible dream. It seemed more and more impossible as life went on. I received raises and bonuses on my day job, and I did not even think about my impossible dream as much. One day as I sat quietly, I had an overwhelming feeling to start the path to the impossible dream. Over the next 7 years I worked on a little of the impossible dream here and a little impossible dream there. I still had my "day job", but now this impossible dream was surfacing like a raging bull charging at a matador.

I questioned myself “Is it time for the impossible dream to be possible”? I had work to do. For so many years I conditioned my mind that the impossible dream was not possible at all. So now I had to build up my courage to trust in the leading to the impossible dream. I started doing little things daily that support that dream. Some days my mind would get the best of me, and I would quit and go back to focusing on my "day job", but at night my drams were filled with the impossible.

I saw dragons and flying super humans. I was dancing on air as fire cannons allowed me to travel at the speed of light. The wings on my back would shield me from harm and the sun never set because I sat on it and meditated every day.

One time the impossible showed me That I could walk on water and as I crossed the ocean. I could look down and see all the mysterious creatures that lived in harmony under the sea. My body was huge! I dipped my hands in the ocean as if it were a pond and picked up a red mermaid. Her name was Anura. She was beautiful and nice. She told me her kind would always spy on us during the full moon. I believed her. She also told me that when her kind would fight against others under the sea. It would cause great waves that would engulf our lands. She apologized. She said they only fought because they were both looking for clean water that was undisturbed by trash to raise their families. I asked her if we could be friends and she said only if my kind would stop throwing trash into their beautiful world. Then there would be no water disasters. Flooding would happen because they are trying to flush out all the trash in the waters, they lived in.

I cried the next day. I wanted to live in harmony. I wanted to end the disasters and see the mermaids all the time. I went back to my day job. The pulling in my chest just would not let go. I needed to make my impossible possible, so I made a decision to do just that. It was not easy. There were times I did not have the money I was used to, but I knew that this was my path. I knew that the impossible dream was my purpose. Everyone around was in an uproar about my decision. They called me delusional and discredited me for following my impossible dream, but something began to happen.

The more I trusted in my impossible dream the more it became possible. I started seeing changes in my life that I had not seen in my day job. It was not just monetary it was true abundance of healing and wellness around me.

I started telling people about the mermaid and the dragon. They started to become more intrigued and asked for more information. I explained the situation with the ocean and why water disasters happen. Over a period of 10 years people started listening to my impossible dream and they began to act on what I was telling them. The red, blue, and purple mermaids no longer came out only during the full moon. They swam to shore all the time and they brought gifts. Countries that did not have sea life to eat because of the polluted lakes and rivers were restored. It was awesome! I felt awesome.

I was also a little disappointed in myself. I let a "day job" and others opinions come between my impossible dream for so many years. I later realized that those with opinions wanted to live their impossible dreams also and was inspired by my actions. One day I received a message from Anura. She told me not to be disappointed. She said I needed to walk the path to see that my impossible dream was my purpose and to appreciate my journey because without it. I would have never discovered the world in which people read about every day. I gave them the possible through my impossible dream.

Read Stories Like these and Listen To my Podcast on My Blog Page

https://lovingyourselftolife51725778.wordpress.com/

happiness
Like

About the Creator

LATANYA N CHATFIELD

I love to write all genres and teach my kids that they can do and be anything at any time in their lives.

Check out some of my other stories, short reads, thoughts on my podcast website: https://lovingyourselftolife51725778.wordpress.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.