Motivation logo

If I Can Help You Find A Specific Size or Style, Let Me Know

Why I Love Helping People Find the Dopest Shoes

By Michael X ChristopherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
pexels - Darina Belonogova

I love everything about my job. Most importantly, I love the person to person interaction involved. I work for a major skate company that sells shoes, clothing, and accessories.

What I love most about my job is this, I get to be myself. Thats right. I show up everyday and simply be myself. I don't have to pretend to be someone I am not. I get to laugh and joke and make the customer feel at home.

I am 35 years old and work for close to minimum wage, but I feel blessed to have a job. You see, I haven't always been able to hold a job. Due to mental health issues I've had to quit my last four jobs. Those were some good jobs but nothing like the job I have now. I have finally found work I genuinely love.

This job is different. I love it so much that I perservere through any hardship. Recently, I had to drop down to 12 hours a week, in order to keep my disability active.

Even though I only work twelve hours, I love every minute at my job. People come in and they aren't sure what they want. We have dozens of different sneakers and it can be overwhelming. It's my job to help the customer find that shoe that is right for them. The shoe that fits their unique style.

Right away, I get to know the customer and find out what there interests are. What do they want their sneakers for? Is it for skating, or walking, or just for fashion?

It's my job to let the customer know about the sales we are having in the store. To help them upgrade from one pair of shoes to two, and to add a pair of socks to their purchase. I love it because I am genuinely trying to help them, while helping my companies bottom line as well.

At checkout, the customer is asked who helped them. My job keeps track of all sales. In my first month on the job I won Star Of The Month, meaning I had the top sales of any associate. For that accolade I received 70% off of all merchandise in the store. And because I love the brand I work for, I was able to purchase a brand new wardrobe.

I did it all while low key struggling with schizophrenia. Each day I perservered through voices telling me to kill myself. I just simply ignored those voices and chose to key in on my customer. What did the customer need? How could I help? How could I be a blessing?

There were days where I literally had a voice repeating over and over, "You are going to kill yourself."

I refuse to end my life. I am living for a reason. I know that despite my illness, I am blessed everyday.

I try to treat each day like its a clean slate, a brand new day. Yesterday is gone forever. Today is a blessing.

And the customers noticed my passion for the job. I often got shout outs to my manager on what a good job I was doing. I was getting shot outs on my first day on the job.

Honestly, I'm 35 and I have had dozens of jobs, but this one might be my favorite. As I said, I love the person to person interaction. I never considered myself a salesman, and this is my first sales job, but I realized I am a great people person.

I hope to continue with my job for years to come. When I asked to drop down to 12 hours a week, my manager was willing to work with me, because of the great job I had been doing.

I also love all of my coworkers. They are awesome to work with and make the job fun.

Its midnight here on the east coast and I go into work in 12 hours. I can't wait to get to work. Maybe you will come to through the doors. If you do, I'm Mike X, I'd love to help you find the dopest shoes we have.

happiness
1

About the Creator

Michael X Christopher

B.S. in Biology. Thrive. Write. Repeat

Author at www.epiphanyartistry.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.