Motivation logo

I Will Rest

A New Kind of New Year Resolution Guide + A Love Letter To Myself

By Laura M.Published 2 years ago 4 min read
1
I Will Rest
Photo by Brandon Cormier on Unsplash

This is a new kind of new year resolution guide.

One that will

hopefully help to

make this new year

a year of rest.

_

There are three simple steps, and they are

probably not what you think,

but I will let you be the judge of that:

Step 1:

Write a love letter to yourself.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Step 2:

In the letter, wish yourself a year full of

the most wonderful days.

That's right,

write a letter full of wishes.

What I mean is to

tell yourself exactly how you would live

each day,

if you were living exactly as you wish you would be living

(and if your heart felt at rest with

who you are

and how you spend your time.)

Make the wishes lovely, and more importantly, make them loving.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Step 3:

Then, each day this year

(or when you can)

live out little pieces of this wish.

Not all at once (and definitely not with judgement or perfectionism)

but just

every so often

bring into existence

little pieces

of this love letter that you wrote to yourself.

By Emma Simpson on Unsplash

Here is the love letter I wrote to myself, full of what I wish for myself in this new year...

_

I Will Rest:

A new year love letter to myself

By Masaaki Komori on Unsplash

Each and every morning, I will open my bedroom window

and I will greet

the morning light.

I will let it wash over my face, I will

open my mouth and let it travel

down my throat and

into my limbs and

through my veins and

I will feel its warmth illuminate me from the inside out.

I will see the morning light’s

soft tint on my skin

and I will find myself saying

wow,

here is my skin,

what beautiful skin this is…

how lucky I am to get to live in this skin.

By Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

And each and every morning, I will rest knowing this:

that the morning has come, and I am in it.

You will not find me in yesterday, and I cannot yet be in tomorrow, but

here, in this morning, this is where I am.

By Joshua Woroniecki on Unsplash

Each and every morning, I will ask myself:

What is my resolution for today?

Because

I am allowed to change day by day.

My mind is not meant for a pitch-perfect routine -

a rhythmic agenda that doesn’t miss a beat.

No,

my needs and emotions shift

far too often to know

what each day will hold

and what I will need in

each new day

and that is okay with me…

_

I will learn to love the parts of myself that are human

(that is to say, all of me).

_

In fact, each morning, when I watch

the morning light rest softly on my skin,

perhaps I will let that

remind me of just

how very human I am.

_

I will let myself rest in this: I am a human, no more and no less.

_

And so my resolution might change each day -

one day to climb to the top of a hill,

another day to wash my hair

to eat three meals

to say something kind to myself

or to find new hope.

By Brooke Lark on Unsplash

I know that if I pause for a moment

(and quietly listen)

I will be able to know what I need,

at least for that day.

By Ravi Roshan on Unsplash

Later in the day, when it is dark and time for me to rest. I will be able to

let

myself

rest.

Because I will say to myself -

me and the light,

we have had this

whole and

wonderful

waking

day together.

And we will be together again tomorrow.

And since I

fully felt the light today

(and let the sun rinse out my soul entirely)

I can rest knowing that

this day was fully spent, and

I can let it be.

By Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

And each and every night,

I will say

thank you

for the soft linen pillow that cradles my head,

for the bed that holds me,

and for the white noise machine

on my bedside table that

lulls me

shushes me

gently to sleep.

I will think to myself, how lucky am I to have

a pillow

a bed

a white noise machine

and a mind to think of all of these grateful thoughts.

_

Because

each and every day this year,

(and each and every night)

I will rest in moments of gratefulness,

and by feeling grateful

I will find new rest.

self help
1

About the Creator

Laura M.

Living in Portland, Oregon.

Feeling things deeply.

Writing to understand.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.