Motivation logo

I've got good news

It's time to put the spotlight on the positive

By Christina EpperlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I've got good news
Photo by Nijwam Swargiary on Unsplash

What I am about to say will not come as a shock. Bad things happen every day in this world. All you must do is look at the news and you will hear about acts of violence, horrific accidents, scandals, and controversies. Now, what I am about to say next may surprise you a little. Good things happen every day in this world. You may have to look around a little bit before you hear about them but trust me, they do happen. If you wish to do so you can read stories about people helping others, feel-good stories about adorable animals, breath taking works of art, people celebrating their great accomplishments and other everyday stories that will have you smiling. There is one thing I often wonder about when it comes to the news. Why are the negative topics highlighted while the positive topics are hidden? Why is it that to read a negative or tragic story all you need to do is look at the front page but to read a positive story you have search for it? I wonder if we put the positive stories on the front page, would our would moods improve? It is so easy to have a negative view of the world when we are constantly reading and viewing depressing and discouraging content. Sometimes positive content will make an appearance on the news, but it is almost never the lead story. Now, this is going to be even harder to believe but I have discovered that this world is a pretty great place. Yes, bad things happen all the time and I am not denying that. However, there is so much good in this world that goes overlooked. It is hard to see this world in a positive light when all the uplifting stories are buried underneath the tragic ones. Often, I see the negative tone of the news have an impact on the mood of those around me. It is easy to feel angry or hopeless after watching the news highlight everything that is wrong with the world. I have seen people vent their negative feelings about what they saw on the news online and in person. At my retail job I have had customers that I have never seen before venting their political opinions to me and my coworkers. It is an awkward position to be in. I much rather people tell me about the great things that are happening in their lives or the lives of others. I do not know why we continue to watch the news on a regular basis when it has a clear negative impact on our overall wellbeing. I do agree that is important to stay informed with what is going on in the world but there needs to be a balance with the stories that are being put on the front pages. The lead story on the news should be an encouraging one at least every other day. I think that this would benefit people more than even I can imagen. I also know this is not something that can change overnight. This will take a lot of time and effort. I think that the best place to start is to bring the positive stories into the spotlight the best we can. When you see a positive story on social media consider sharing it. Tell others about the positive things in your life and ask them for the good things that are happening in theirs. Now, I want to make something clear there are negative things happening in this world that we cannot afford to turn a blind eye to. There are many serious problems that we need to be aware of and that we need to change. However, we cannot forget to shine a light on the positive stories that are happening. I bet we would start noticing positive changes in ourselves and others if we gave the positive stories and the negative stories the amount of publicity.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.