Motivation logo

I stopped self-sabotaging to be a Successful Me !!

Give your thoughts the wings to fly

By Arun KumarPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Fly high to make a difference

I used to be my own worst enemy. For as long as I can remember, I tended to self-sabotage in all aspects of my life. Whether it was relationships, career, or personal development, I always found a way to get in my way. Growing up, I was an excellent student. I always received good grades and was praised for my intelligence. However, as I got older, I began to realize that being smart wasn't enough to succeed in life. I needed to work hard and apply myself, and that's where my self-sabotaging tendencies started to show.

In college, I would procrastinate on assignments until the last minute, and then panic and pull all-nighters to get things done. I would convince myself that I work better under pressure, but in reality, I was just setting myself up for failure. When I entered the workforce, my self-sabotaging tendencies continued. I would start projects with enthusiasm, but then lose motivation and never finish them. I would take on more responsibilities than I could handle, and then drop the ball on important tasks. I would let my fear of failure paralyze me and prevent me from taking risks or pursuing new opportunities.

It wasn't until I hit rock bottom that I realized I needed to make a change. I had been passed over for a promotion at work, and I knew it was because of my self-sabotaging behavior. I had let my fear of success and my lack of confidence hold me back, and I had to take responsibility for my actions. I decided to start with therapy. I had always been skeptical of therapy, but I knew I needed to talk to someone who could help me understand why I was self-sabotaging and how to overcome it. My therapist helped me see that my self-sabotage was rooted in my childhood and my experiences growing up.

She helped me understand that I was subconsciously trying to protect myself from failure by sabotaging myself before anyone else could. With my therapist's help, I began to identify the patterns of behavior that led to my self-sabotage. I started to notice when I was procrastinating when I was avoiding tasks, and when I was letting my fear of failure control my actions. I learned to pause and reflect on my actions, instead of just reacting impulsively. I also started to work on building my confidence. I realized that my lack of confidence was holding me back in every aspect of my life. I started to challenge my negative self-talk and replace it with positive affirmations. I practiced mindfulness and meditation to help calm my anxious thoughts and build my resilience.

As I started to make progress in therapy, I began to see changes in my life. I started to take on more responsibilities at work, and I completed them. I started to pursue new opportunities and take risks, knowing that even if I failed, I was still growing and learning. I even started to date again, something that I had avoided for years because of my fear of rejection. The biggest change came when I decided to start my own business. It was a scary decision, but I knew that if I didn't take the risk, I would regret it forever. I put all my energy into building my business, and it paid off. I was able to create something that I was proud of, something that I had never been able to do before because of my self-sabotaging behavior.

Now, looking back on my journey, I am grateful for the struggles that led me to where I am today. I am proud of the progress I have made and the person I have become. I know that self-sabotage will always be a part of me, but I am now equipped with the tools to recognize and overcome it. I have learned to trust myself and my abilities, and to take risks even when they scare me. I have also learned to be kinder to myself and to celebrate my successes, no matter how small.

One of the biggest lessons I have learned is that self-sabotage is often a sign that we are afraid of something. It could be fear of failure, fear of success, fear of rejection, or fear of the unknown. When we self-sabotage, we are trying to protect ourselves from these fears, but in the end, we are only holding ourselves back.

To overcome self-sabotage, we need to confront our fears and understand where they are coming from. We need to practice self-compassion and remind ourselves that failure is a natural part of growth and that success is possible. We also need to seek support from others, whether it is through therapy, coaching, or simply talking to friends and family.

As I continue on my journey, I know that self-sabotage will still be a challenge, but I am now better equipped to handle it. I am grateful for the lessons I have learned and the person I have become. I am excited to see where this newfound confidence and self-awareness will take me in the future. I want to encourage anyone who may be struggling with self-sabotage to take the first step toward overcoming it. It may be scary and uncomfortable, but it is a necessary step towards a happier and more successful life.

Remember that self-sabotage is not a character flaw or a weakness, but a behavior that can be changed with the right tools and mindset. It is a sign that you are capable of achieving great things, but something is holding you back. The good news is that with self-awareness, self-compassion, and support from others, you can break free from the cycle of self-sabotage and unlock your full potential.

So, if you are feeling stuck or unsure of your abilities, take a moment to reflect on the fears that may be holding you back. Challenge your negative self-talk and replace it with positive affirmations. Surround yourself with people who believe in you and support your goals. And most importantly, be kind to yourself and celebrate your successes, no matter how small.

In totality, the journey to success is not always a straight path, and it's okay to stumble along the way. What matters most is that you keep moving forward and never give up on your dreams. So, take a deep breath, trust in yourself, and let go of your self-sabotaging behavior.

Hope You all got this!!

success
Like

About the Creator

Arun Kumar

Am a passionate Blogger and aspire to be a best-selling author. I am always willing to go that extra mile to make a difference in my life to create value for myself and others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.