Motivation logo

I make things

The story of my crafting life

By Patricia L. LoganPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Hi, my name is Patricia, and I am a crafter/writer/graphic designer. I want to talk about how I got involved with this world called crafting, which made me who I am today as a business owner. Everyone has a story, so here is mine.

When I was 5 or 6, I made my first candle at a friend of the family’s house. She often babysat me to give my parents a break they needed to have a date night. This particular afternoon, her daughter and I were being typical children, and Ms. Olivet had us make candles.

As Ms. Olivet melted the wax in a double boiler, my friend and I watched as she added the food coloring while we said the wicks to our containers. Since both of us were too young to pour the wax (my friend was 6 or 7), we could not wait for the wax to harden and form into these candles.

Candle making was not the only thing that I learned how to make. We also learned how to knit, and that year, I owned my first pair of knitting needles. A few years later, my family and I moved across the country to New Jersey, and I became a Girl Scout since my father was in the military. I learned about more crafts with my troop leader and earned a few badges. Four years later, we moved one more time to Ohio, which has been our permanent residence.

Once we settled in Columbus, my crafting lessons were taught by my grandmother, and she taught me the art of crochet and other needlework. She would start me on hats, which I hated making, but I would move on to other things, such as blankets. She died in 1979, and I continued to teach myself the rest of the stitches in crochet. I also relearned knitting. Home Economics taught me how to saw, as well as my mother.

In 1995, I started developing Carpel Tornal Syndrome, which affects the wrists. This is caused by repeatedly doing a movement, doing needlework (knitting, crocheting, and occasional latch hooking), being a musician (I play keyboard instruments), typing, and arm and hand movement for ballet and contemporary jazz dance aggravates it. Even holding a book or cooking does the same thing. That is when I had decided to give up needle crafting, and I was not happy about it. I enjoyed sitting in front of the television and work with my hands. I never knew that God told me to go in another direction. That direction was Paper crafting.

By now, you are wondering the difference between needlework and paper crafting when it comes to the hands. It is a different kind of movement. When you are working with knitting needles, a crochet hook, a latch hook, or a sewing/embroidery needle, you are holding your work in your hands, which in the beginning, it is a small piece of yarn. As that yarn is woven into a blanket, scarf, hat, or another clothing article, it gets heavier, no matter how strong you are. Also, you are rotating your wrists as you work. That is why writing with a pen, stirring with a spoon, or tapping keys on a computer or musical keyboard can aggravate it.

However, when placing the paper in a scrapbook layout, stamping on paper to make a card, or using die cuts, you are not rotating your wrists as much.

Since I started my crafting journey at the age of 6, I have become a blogger, freelance writer, and graphic designer. I learned the art of making things through PhotoShop, Illustrator, and Canva. I jumped for joy when I made my first 3D object, a simple ball, a beer/soda can with my logo on it.

This year, during the pandemic, I also discovered the art of making items with vinyl and sublimation. It is so funny that I see a trend and gravitate towards it, but it is okay, as it ties in with my paper crafting. I no longer work with scrapbook projects since people are more interested in keeping photos on their phones. So that is okay, too. I own a business called P. Lynne Designs, and it keeps me busy. I also have a writing business too called The Writing Cove.

As I get closer to my 60s, I can look back over my crafty life with joy because I learned so much. I probably will not be that little old lady sitting in a rocking chair, knitting a sweater for my nieces and nephews (I do not have any children, thus no grandchildren). I will most likely be a Badass Senior with all the guts and know-how of most people half my age. You know what, I like what I see because I make things.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.