Motivation logo

I have a dream

of a better tomorrow

By Desiree WetzPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I have a dream
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

I have a dream that no matter what race, gender, culture, beliefs, family backgrounds, or abilities we have, all will accept us.

I will give a voice for those that have none. I will fight the injustices I witness in a calm manner but I will be forceful enough for other to take notice and listen. I will amplify my voice until the walls of complacency shatter and the earth moves with my inflections. I will push the boundaries until they question the way they live their existence. I have a dream that even ignorance can be unlearned.

I will not be afraid to talk about the things that need to be said. I will not back down when my beliefs are challenged. I have a dream I will be accepted.

I have a dream my people will not be seen as targets for sexual trafficking. I have a dream that my community will rise and protect those that need it. I have a dream this will end before it is my time to end on this earth.

I have a dream that I won’t hear, “Come back to where you came from.” Whenever I am just walking in the parking lot or in the grocery store. As if immigrants and their influence didn’t build this country. As if this country isn’t built on the blood of my ancestors. As if this country wasn’t built on genocide and slavery. I will no longer tolerate ignorance. I will walk with my head high and I will make sure that those around me can do the same. I have a dream that we can all heal.

I will keep participating in my community so that they can heal from generational traumas. Whether this means volunteering in the community gardens or cooking for women’s circles. I have a dream that even the small gestures mean healing.

I will continue to uplift my children. They are the future and I want them to understand the true meaning of life and what time means. Time isn’t this fast-paced world we live in. If you can live with the simple things, than you already have won the battle. I want them to grow in their community. Learn the language and our culture. Be good to others even if they do not share the same culture and beliefs. I have a dream my children won’t judge people for whom they are but rather what others’ deeds are.

I want my children to not have to be afraid of what other think of them. I want them to be kids. I will encourage their child-like and innocent minds. I have a dream that the people of this world will not harm their innocence.

I have a dream this country will stop fighting for greed. We fight wars old men make and we pay with the blood of our fathers, mother, sisters, brothers, husbands, wives, sons, and daughters.

I have a dream that we will stop starving ourselves for fad. That it will be okay to love our bodies and us. That we will no longer be judged by outside appearances but what is inside our hearts. I have a dream my views on myself will be filled with love and understanding instead of harsh judgment and comparisons. Whether this means positive affirmations in the mirror or running until I am too tired to talk down to myself.

I need to be kinder to myself. I have a dream I won’t be afraid of taking chances and making changes. I have a dream that I will find this same passion when met with confrontation from those that fight truth with ignorance.

healing
1

About the Creator

Desiree Wetz

I have been intrigued with writing since I was twelve years old. At first, it was poetry but then in morphed into a love of fiction, fantasy, and adventure. When I'm not writing stories, I am running wild with my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.