Motivation logo

I Found My Voice Again

When All Is Lost

By Chontell LucasPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
I Found My Voice Again

My name is Chontell Lucas. 5 years ago I was involved in a life altering accident. Before the accident I was a singer, teacher, and advocate for Sarcoidosis. My mother passed away from Sarcoidosis in the year of 2012. I was completely devestated. I had 2 choices to live or to die with depression. I chose to live. My life was finally purpose driven. I founded and organization in honor of my mother and Sarcoidosis Advocacy. Sparkle Nation, LLC. derived from pain that I turned into purpose! This organization stands for shining your life in the face of adversity. When people see your light, it’s definitely contagious. Life was good, my music career was taking off tremendously after the release of my first single. My entire life was music. I believe I came singing out of the womb. The origin of my name means “to sing.” Well, this accident didn’t take my life, but it definitely tried to deminish all hope. This accident or incident changed the trajectory of my life. I suffered 10 broken ribs, my lungs collapsed, tracheotomy, 2 fractures in my neck, concussion, and I was on life support with a minimum chance of survival. The doctors let my family know that if I lived, I would never speak again, or sing. God proved them wrong. I’m alive today, and I’m speaking. Although the instruments that were used to save my life has altered my vocal chords. I’m still able to speak, but very low. Here’s what no one knows. I literally thought my life was over before I started therapy. I didn’t know what I would do with myself, because I didn’t think God could really use me beyond my singing abilities. Boy, He he proved me wrong. Singing was just the vehicle used for a short while to lead me to my destiny. The physical pain was excruciating, but the emotional pain was just as intense. My hope was diminishing and I was holding on on with my faith for dear life. My mom is gone, now the very instrument that I use to bring me peace, and to give God glory is gone. What is there left to do? Why am I here? My therapist told me in my first session, “You are more than your singing ability.” That phrase changed the trajectory of my life. I began to act like I was more, thus producing more. Today, I have 13 Empowerment Pageant Franchises for girls, A mentor program, and a plus size online boutique. I’m also the former Ms. South Carolina Plus America 2016. I firmly believe that life is more than breathing, it’s the motion of growth, learning, and truly becoming what you were created for. I’ve won several awards on my pageant journey: The Miss Community Service Award, The Director’s Award, People’s Choice Award, Ms. Congeniality Award, and Talent Award. I had the opportunity to travel to Dallas, Texas to participate in the Miss Plus America Pageant System, where I received The Smile Award for Positive Social Media Influence and Best Overall Interview Score. In addition I was crowned Ms. Yellow Jessamine Plus America 2017. During this particular reign, I received several awards and placed 4th in the National Plus America Pageant System.

I was recently awarded the 2018 Woman of Influence Award by ACHI Magazine. The ACHI Award is granted to women who through consistency and longevity have achieved success in a chosen profession. Honorees are viewed not for what they’ve achieved but also the achievement they inspire in others. I was also named among the South Carolina Top 20 Under 40 for my achievements in the community in 2018. I have received a prestigious nomination for the 2019 Dream Catchers Award for outstanding achievement in my community along with the 2019 Life Changer Award.

My passion is simply GOD and LIFE. I want every individual to leave my presence feeling empowered, informed, and inspired. It is an unforgettable feeling knowing what it’s like to fight for your last breath. The memories of survival is the force that drives me to encourage others to simply live. I’m so passionate about infusing purpose in every individual that I encounter, enabling them to use every gift that’s placed inside. The goal is to leave this earth empty and to encourage others to do the same. The secret is, I didn’t let what I lost, hold me back. I literally lost my voice, but thank God I was able to find my true voice again.

healing
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.