Motivation logo

I am my painting

I am no longer ashamed

By Anne-Abigaïl Fils-AiméPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Whether I'm wearing lots of makeup or no makeup, I'm always the same person inside.

When I was a young girl, I didn't consider make-up as a passion, because for society, make-up was considered only in its futile aspect. It was considered so much as something superficial that it was inconceivable to be intellectual and take an intense interest in this distraction, reserved for frivolous people.

But believe me, I am not frivolous and not brainless. I am gifted with excellent human qualities, great intelligence, adaptability and leadership. I have always been concerned about humanity, justice, welfare and the environment.

It's me

Today I am no longer ashamed of the love I have for this art... I love those little everyday gestures that make me feel splendid when I look at myself in the mirror.

Today I realize that I am my painting. I use my body as a support and my face is a blank canvas waiting to be painted.

Indeed, my body and face include activities such as bodypaint and make-up. On the other hand, I do not use my brushes only to beautify myself, but to enrich and expose my physical features.

I am my painting and the colors used are an expression of my reality and reflect moments of my life and my character.

But now I have decided to use my painting to represent the ecological reality of the world. In today's environment, the cosmetics industry is very flourishing and this obviously represents a very important production that has an impact on our planet and our environment.

So I changed my perception of makeup. I no longer use and consider makeup or cosmetics as a simple part of daily life, but as an art form that I use in many ways and as a way to raise awareness about important social causes such as the environment.

While others and non-adopted people see my makeup as a way to accentuate my beauty, it is rather a way for me to express my values, my social convictions and my concerns for the environment, justice and humanity. Isn't that exactly what art is all about?

So, for many years I have been a healthy and organic beauty guru. I use food waste to create my shades. I transform food, such as fruits and vegetables rejected by retailers, into powders to create my colors. I create an ambiance with colors just as well as painters do! I mix these colors to create original and glamorous shades and looks but all while helping to fight against food waste.

I use the benefits of the earth to create illusions on my face. I give a second life to these foods to draw my cheekbones, to illuminate my eyes, and to slim my nose or enlarge my eyes. In addition, I can find in these wasted foods the colors that complement my chocolate complexion and brown eyes.

By Sri Lanka on Unsplash

By using, new healthy beauty habits I no longer feel like I'm introducing myself, but present beauty in a new light. Knowing that my body and face are my first tools to connect with others, I introduce them to a different lifestyle and a new mentality.

Today I assume my futility, because it is part of my life and because it is my own little thing. It is my weapon. The one I use to fight against the causes that are dear to my heart.

That's why I want to encourage my generation to take part in important subjects and causes, but in their way and my way of intervening is with my makeup brush in hand.

So I repeat.... I am my painting, a blank canvas just waiting to be painted and to inspire others.

healing
1

About the Creator

Anne-Abigaïl Fils-Aimé

" I believe that you don't achieve change by always thinking about the same thing. Being constantly evolving is my motto. I am a millennial writer who knows that change of mind starts with a pen or a brush in hand."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.