Motivation logo

How Would You Handle It?

What choice would you choose?

By VeronicaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Throughout my life I honestly would have to say I've been threw a lot of mental sh*t; I'm surprised it hasn't killed me yet. A few of you or maybe even a lot of you can relate... People close to you or maybe even strangers you've came across once in your lifetime have said some pretty harsh stuff to you.

For instance, I've been told; (quoted by different people during different aspects in my life.)

"You're going to be like Drake's baby momma. Ain't no one ever gonna know about you."

"B**h I can care less about if you woulda got in a car crash b***h I still be sippin my tea."

"You're selfish, all you think about is yourself."

"You won't amount to anything in life."

"That's not good enough. You're not good enough. You didn't even try."

"You're not a good mother. I feel sorry for your child."

"Your eyes are so chinky, how can you see out of them."

"You're a midget. You're short, you can't even be that/do this."

"I disown you from my life."

The list of negativity goes on, but throughout my life I've also heard some positive things too. I am forever grateful to come across those amazing people, because just these few words honestly kept me going. A few positive words spoken to me were:

"You're always smiling."

"You are gorgeous."

"Your spirit is contagious."

"You have a beautiful heart."

"You are an amazing mother."

"I love you."

"You're going to be someone great one day."

"This world needs you."

" You have a good business mind, you'll do great in business."

"You're smart."

"You're the sweetest person."

You see, it's not about if the good outweighs the bad or if the bad outweighs the good. It is all about your perspective. Do you dwell on the negative or focus on the positive? And what is it that you believe about yourself? It is all YOU. It's never the situation or circumstance. I say that because everything and anything can literally change in a quick second or in a blink of an eye. You can have everything you've ever dreamed of and feel fulfilled and happy or you could be absolutely miserable. You could have absolutely nothing and be the happiest joyous person alive or you could be absolutely miserable. It's all about how you perceive things. You have the power in you to decide.

Someone once thought I do all this positivity for show and that I'm this "perfect" person. Little do they know that they were wrong. Truth be told, my life is not perfect and I am not a perfect person. I have flaws, I have my own ups and downs just like anyone else... The only difference is that I am optimistic in most situations. Don't get me wrong I have my days where I cry, I yell, I get angry and frustrated or I'm sad... It happens.

Being optimistic and looking at the positive side of things is a lifestyle. Just as going to the gym is a lifestyle for some people. It's a choice. You choose to make time out of your day to go to the gym. You choose to workout to look good, feel good, be healthy, lose weight etc... It becomes a part of you. It becomes apart of the way you live. To be optimistic, to have a positive mindset and a positive attitude is a choice. It's a daily choice I make and it is a choice you can make too. I am a powerful human being and so are YOU! It is incredible, we all have so much power within us to do and be who we want to be in this life of ours. You have a choice to let the negative energy to consume you and be you or you have the choice to reject that negativity energy and believe that that is not apart of who you are.

You have a choice and it starts with you.

Choose positivity.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Veronica

Exploring the world through words. 🌍✍️ Articles, stories, and poems on places, food, family fun, and the beauty of everyday life. Join me on a journey of discovery and imagination.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.