Motivation logo

How to Make a Side Job Work for You

Why you should always be working towards your goals

By Terri AllenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
8

Where do you see yourself in five years? Are you taking steps to reach this goal? Are you aware that you can change your life in such a short space of time if you work toward it every single day?

I think that you should wake up everyday and make steps to achieve your goals. This could be a five minute task everyday that brings your end goal closer.

When it comes to me I need to keep this in the back of my mind at all times, I need to go to work so that I can afford my bills but in my spare time I work on what I really want to be doing.

Writing is a huge part of my life that I realised I wanted to do professionally as of November 2020. Back then I thought it would be easy, you write a book, you find a publisher, then you make loads of money and BOOM your book is getting a movie deal. Little did I know that it is nothing like that at all.

Since then I’ve had a few months where I was unable to open my laptop and write, I was unable to go on Twitter and promote myself and found it impossible to see the end goal. Now it's August 2021 and I’m almost a whole year into my five year plan and nowhere near the progress I wanted to be at this point. I still have three months to catch up though.

If you want to see real results to get your side job to become your main job then you really need to push through all the bad times and work hard to get to the good.

I still haven’t made money from writing but I am making a nice base for myself to earn in the future. Everything I write gets me closer to my voice and I can see improvement in everything I do.

I just need to keep it in mind that this is what I want to do, this is my happy place and it’s not going to be handed to me on a silver platter. Good things come to those who earn it and I intend to earn every single bit of this.

Five years is enough time to entirely change your life if you get up everyday and imagine yourself in the end goal. If you hate what you’re currently doing and can’t imagine doing that for the next 5 years of your life then get up everyday and get closer to what you want to do.

Use whatever you can as motivation to get you there, the support of your family and friends or even strangers on the internet is a good start. You’ll always find like minded people who want to get to the same destination as you. On my Twitter I have found so many amazing, like-minded people who will wholeheartedly support strangers and it’s amazing.

I never take a day off now, I write constantly. On my break at work you’ll find me in the canteen writing on my phone just so I can try and get my writing targets for the week done. I will send my friends a link to my writing so they can give me their opinion on what I’ve written and I promote myself profusely on my Twitter page.

It’s always going to be a slow process but you need to remember that the first step is always the hardest but it will get easier the more you work up. If it’s something that you really want to work on then why would you give up on it? Believe in yourself, work for it and you will achieve everything you want from the time you have on this world.

Why limit yourself to a boring job if you want to be in a creative industry? You deserve more and you can get that if you just do everything in your power to get there.

goals
8

About the Creator

Terri Allen

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.