Motivation logo

How to Genuinely Be Happy

A Non-guide to Happiness

By helianthus Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Happiness is in your possession already. Tap in.

When you google "happiness" a definition and other links pop up in one second (0.54 seconds to be exact). However, these links are not meant to diagnose and give professional advice. No one can tell you how to be happy and what you can do to become happy.

The simplest answer anyone can tell you: learn to be happy with YOURSELF.

Aristotle said it best: "Happiness depends upon ourselves".

If we learn to accept the unique things that make us "us" we will find true happiness. Society can be a self-esteem killer that makes us compare our perfect selves to those who may have took alternate routes to look different from what The Creator intended them to be. This can set an image that we are not enough to be perfect.

Along with looks, our personalities make us perfect and unique. We should learn to accept how we think and react to situations. We must not look at ourselves and point out our flaws because there are none. Disclosure: mental health illnesses are not normal. You deserve to have optimal mental health. There is help available for those who believe they need it. Check your local listings for psychologists, therapists, counselors, and/or community services.

Tupac (the love of my life) said:

"A lot of people, black, white, Mexican, young, old, fat or skinny, have a problem being true to their self. They have a problem looking into the mirror and looking directly into their own soul. The reason I sell 6 million records, the reason I can go to jail and come out without a scratch, the reason I can walk around, the reason I am who I am today, is because I can look directly into my face and find my soul. It's right there. It's not sold. I didn't sell it. It's still within me. I still feel it. My heart is still connected to my body..."

This statement from this great, beautiful man is as raw and straight-forward as it can get. One must know their soul in order to be in tune with themselves. Feed your soul and your spirit with positivity and love.

No one can tell you how to truly be happy, but YOU. Reading this, you would be surprised how many people are dumb-founded by the idea that happiness comes from within. However, for those who may need a template, please keep reading.

Take care of your temple:

Eat fresh fruits and vegetables. Drink water and cranberry juice. Walk in the park. Read a great book. Take time for silence. ***Put your phone on do not disturb*** Go to a movie alone. Laugh at your silly mistakes. Laugh wholeheartedly. Cry when you feel like it. Burn your favorite candles. Listen to that song you know all the lyrics to. Sing at the top of your lungs. Dance in the mirror. Take time to sit and talk with the elders in your family. Donate old clothes and shoes. De-clutter under your bed. Open the windows. Let the sun in. Take a vacation; money always comes back, but time does not. FORGIVE.

Take time for you: Make a list of things you consider to be self-care.

I took 10 minutes to sit and type in Notes on my phone the things I like to do that makes me feel good, titled Treat yo self. Here I will share a few:

1. Shopping

2. Eating chocolate/cookies/cakes

3. Cleaning my room

4. Yoga session

5. Listening to music and dancing and singing along

6. Crossing something off my to-do list

7. Saying "no" !!

8. Painting and drawing

9. Burning candles

10. Washing my hair

I definitely have a lot more listed but to keep symmetry, I'll leave it at ten. The more time I took to make this list, the more I began to realize that I take time for self-care everyday. Also, there are a lot of things that make me happy, relaxed, back in tune, and overall refreshed. Just taking the time to acknowledge what makes you happy (even the smallest of things), is a form of SELF-CARE. So take 10 minutes out of your busy schedules and make a list of all of the things that make you happy. Self-love is the best love and we can't be truly happy until we find love within ourselves and that starts with self-care.

Take time for your loved ones. Help strangers and those who are unable to help themselves. Love with a pure heart and pure intentions.

Love your family (even those you need to love from afar). Love your friends (regardless of the fall outs). Love your neighbors (no matter how noisy or nosy). Love the homeless person you see on the street everyday (God blesses those who bless others with no motive). We can't love someone else truly and wholeheartedly unless we love ourselves more.

Love life regardless of the good, great, bad, worst.

Overall, love You because you are lovely.

happiness
2

About the Creator

helianthus

"I am not my hair. I am not this skin. I am the soul that lives within." India.Arie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.