Motivation logo

How to Figure Out What You Want in Life

Getting clear on what you want and designing a plan to get there!

By Osana WasutPublished 5 years ago 7 min read
Like

Hello and welcome!

Today, I want to help you get clear on what it is you want for your life, design a plan to help you get there, and have the courage to pursue your dreams even when things get hard.

By the end of this post, you will:

  • Get clear on the life you want for yourself, because there are so many options, and figuring out what is the best way for you to live.
  • Design a plan for yourself to work towards every day.
  • Have the courage to follow your heart and pursue your dreams, even in the face of adversity.

So where shall we begin?

Let us start with deciding what you want, and I don't mean material things, which you can still include, but I am going to help you figure out the main things that humans generally desire, but tend to forget about in the pursuit of money, or material possessions.

So in this list, go through and check off the things you want in your life!

  • Freedom
  • Love
  • Peace
  • Happiness
  • Joy
  • Abundance
  • Balance
  • Stability
  • Fulfillment
  • Passion
  • Confidence
  • Harmony

So now that you have a list of at least five things you want, heck you might have checked all of those listed above, and that is okay! Now start to number them in order of importance, one being the most important up to the last one. That way you know where you should focus the most energy on.

For example, one of my top desires is freedom. I want to live a life where I am free to go where I want when I want, whenever I want. No restrictions, no limitations, just freedom. That’s one of my top desires in life, and I know it’s what I want, more so than the latest designer handbag or a new car, I want freedom above everything.

So now that you have your list of what you desire in your life, you can start to create a plan on how to bring more of those things into your life.

For example, if your happiness is the top priority in your life, then start to figure out things you can do on a daily basis that will bring you more happiness.

Figure out what makes you happy, and include that in your plan. For example, let’s say that you love painting, but you have difficulty adding it into your daily routine because it’s not going to help you “pay the bills” or “make a living” so often we put the things that actually bring us true happiness aside, because we have “better” things to do.

This is not the right way to look at it, and those things that make you happy should be included even more so in your daily routine! Your happiness should become your top priority above all other things, because when you are happy your life flows easier.

Look at your daily schedule, and see if you can start including things that make you happy, give you peace, or bring you more confidence or balance into your life, whatever your desires are, you can work towards them every day.

When I started out on my journey, I wanted to be happier, so I started to include things into my daily life that made me happy, even if it was just a short walk in the park, that brought me happiness, and so over time I started to prioritize these things more and more, and before I knew it, my whole day was spent doing things that made me happy, even my work made me happy because I knew that it was what I truly wanted to do, and I wasn’t just doing it to earn a paycheck.

The thing is, there are many different ways to live life, and there is certainly not one cookie cutter for everyone, we are all unique, and we all want different things for our lives, so I give you complete permission to make this life your life, and not someone else’s life. Don’t do things just to make someone else happy, do things to make both you and the other person happy.

You can live your life however you want, and the problem with society right now is everyone is too busy looking at what the next person is doing, keeping up with the Jones's or climbing that never ending career ladder towards something they're not even sure if they want…

It’s an easy trap that so many fall into because it’s what society tells us we should want, and if we don’t, then we are “rejected” by the masses.

I saw this a lot in my life, because I wanted freedom more than anything, so for me, buying a house and getting tied down into a 25+ year mortgage seemed to be the absolute stupidest thing I could ever do… So I told my friends and family that I never planned on buying a house, and I was met with very angry faces. >:(

You know the face, that look… when you say something that goes against the normal way of doing things…

“Well Lindsay, where are you going to live if you don’t have a house?”

To which I replied:

“The World is my home, I will live anywhere and everywhere I want. I will be free to go live in paradise one month, and then to the mountains the next, I won’t be tied down to a single location forever.”

As you can tell, this upset the apple kart, and I was 100 percent okay with that because I knew what I wanted for MY OWN LIFE, and it didn’t matter what others thought about me, I was following my heart and chasing my dream, and that was all that mattered.

SO go over an entire day in your life, write out everything you typically do from the moment you wake up, 'til the moment you go to bed, and then from there, start to see if you have time to include a few things that will help you get more of the things you want in life.

Now the last thing I will leave you with is having the courage to go after your desires, because like so many others have experienced, it’s not always going to be easy.

You aren’t going to be thrown a parade in your honor the second you decide to start living a life of your design, a life of your dreams.

In fact, you might be met by the angry face. >:(

People generally don’t get it, they don’t understand why you want more from life… They might say “Why can’t you just be happy with what you have?”

Then you may start feeling guilty like you shouldn’t want more, because you do have a pretty good life already, and there are so many who don’t have even a fraction of what you have, so what makes you think you deserve any better?

This is where I will say, you DO DESERVE BETTER, you deserve all that you want and then some, like seriously, this belief that we shouldn’t want more because it somehow takes away from someone else is absurd.

In fact, the more you have, the more you give, and it’s actually selfish to not want more, because when you don’t have all that you want you tend to hoard the things you do have in fear of losing them.

I’ve seen this a lot with stuff, people hoard their stuff, in fear that they might never be able to get new stuff, or won’t be able to afford it. Or they hoard their money, in fear that they won't get any more money… But not you, you know better, and you know that you can always get more of what you want, so there is no need to hoard anything, especially your money, as you know money is like the tide, it comes and it goes, and the more you give the more you receive.

SO have courage when you go after your dreams in life, for as you go after your own dreams, you show others that it's okay for them to go after their own dreams in life, and I mean what could be better than a world where everyone is living their dream life?

I don’t think much could beat that, and this is why I love what I do, and has been my main motivation throughout all the initial foundation building of my life, knowing that one day, when I was free to travel the world, financially free, physically free, and spiritually free, I would be living my dream life, and it would all be worth it.

Nothing anyone says can affect you, the only way that it can be so is if you actually allow it, which is your free will.

Are you going to let the opinions of others stop you on your path to your dream life?

Or are you going to simply say to them, “We will see, come back and talk to me five years from now, and you’ll see how much my life has changed.”

I hope this helps, and I look forward to connecting with you more!

If you are interested, I offer a free 60 minute “Someday Maybe” Discovery call to help you get clear on what you want and start turning that “Someday Maybe” list into a "today” list.

You can learn more about that here :)

With Love and Light,

Lindsay @ World Dreamerz

www.worlddreamerz.com

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Osana Wasut

Sharing my stories with the world. Writing has been a great tool for transformation, and I feel like I am only starting to dive deep into the self. Life is a wonderful gift, live to the fullest!

Find me at www.osanawasut.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.