Motivation logo

How to easily deal with repressed issues.

How to get rid of repressed issues easily and painlessly.

By Denis FranchukPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Ok, so I'm not going to bullshit you, you can efficiently deal with repressed issues, and it's pretty straightforward to do so. First, you have to:

1) Set the unconscious desire to do so,

and then you must:

2) Act on it when it re-surfaces.

When I took a course on Neuro-Linguistic Programming (that I only finished halfway), I learned about SMART goals and why they are useful. It's a way of setting goals that are:

- Specific

- Measurable

- Achievable

- Realistic

- and Time-based

An example of that would be, "I want to finish this project by the end of the week, considering that it is entirely in my power to do so." That creates a specific goal, meaning that the goal is to complete a project. That goal is also measurable in that we understand the scope of the work that we need to do. We can also see that it is achievable because it is entirely in our power to do so. It is realistic because the project is possible and has a specific outcome. And it is Time-based because it has a set deadline. Provided that we do the work, the goal will come to fruition!

But how does that relate to repressed issues?

Before I get into what a repressed issue is from my perspective, let me make it clear that I also understand that there is such a thing as a victim mentality and why it's essential to deal with that too. We also have a conscious mind and an unconscious mind, and it's important to find the distinction between the two.

I'm sure that we all had moments in our lives when we froze and couldn't think of how to respond to a situation. It's fine to stop and be calm, but that is a response to a problem. I'm talking more about dangerous problems in which we had no choice but to do absolutely nothing.

I guess maybe I wasn't miss-treated too badly compared to the kind of damage that I did to myself on my own will, but it felt like a lot in the very least. Anyway, I found the solution!

We have to use SMART goals to set the intention that we would like to address these issues, and they will re-surface. Then, we peacefully act on them to find a solution to the problem.

For this me, this involved a bit of crying, making peace with my parents, and then addressing some more issues that I'd picked up along the way. It was pretty straight forward, but the take away is this:

How I've set the goals was to make sure that they followed the SMART formula. Let's take a look at that one more time:

Specific: I made sure that I stated that I wanted to find the solution to my problem.

Measurable: I understood how it made me feel or the effect that it had on my life.

Achievable: I knew that I could solve this problem because I was not born with it, and I had the specific memory of the event.

Realistic: It is entirely in my power to do so, and anyone is capable of it.

Time-based: I wanted it resolved NOW!

That is how I was able to see the problem surfaced and brought the issue up with my parents. We cried and made peace, and everything was excellent from that point on.

Now I have a different problem, and I don't know how to set a SMART goal for it. It's a smoking problem, but I call it my addiction problem. Luckily, I don't have to take it too far, but that's an entirely different issue. The only memory that I have of it is the first time that I smoked after having quit for two years. I know that there is no such thing, but it almost felt good. I must've been way too drunk to think about such a responsibility because I know that it is impossible. It must've been that I had quit, but not wholly, and so that cigarette felt good after a long period of abstinence. I followed Allen Carr's EASYWAY, but not to the very end. I will look it into it again, but with an open mind.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Denis Franchuk

Hi! My name is Denis Franchuk, and I am a digital marketer. I specialize in SEO, social media marketing, and content creation.

Thanks to Vocal, I now have a place to boost my writing abilities to meet my expectations. Thank you, Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.