Motivation logo

How Putting The Cart Before The Horse Can Produce Amazing Results

My secret weapon for reaching my desired outcome and getting what I want out of life!

By Amanda GirouxPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

For anyone who knows me personally, they wouldn't describe as being traditional, linear, or very detailed . I have always been more of an abstract, big picture, outside the box, go big or go home kind of person. This is true in my decisions I make in my life as well.

Have you ever heard the term "putting the cart before the horse'? This expression is used to suggest that something is done contrary to a conventional or culturally expected order. This is how I make the majority of my decisions in life and how I have managed to have massive growth in short periods of time.

Deciding Before You Know How It Will Be Done

When we want to do something, we typically think about it first, trying to decide whether or not it is possible to execute, what we will need to get it accomplished, how hard it will be, what people might think about it and so on. The issue with this path is that we give far too much power to the conscious, or, logical part of our mind, which is the goal setter, not the goal getter, like the unconscious mind is.

We stew in our logic for too long, which hinders our ability to DECIDE on the outcome. We allow our mind to trip us up in all the ways it could go wrong or not work, and what ends up happening is we usually don't go after the thing. We give up before we even start because we have allowed logic to make the decision for us. I am not saying achieving goals doesn't involve planning and strategy , NOT AT ALL. On the contrary, it absolutely requires carving out a plan, a back up plan, and being prepared for anything and everything to happen.

What I AM saying is that before we do the planning, we need to commit to the outcome FIRST. We need to commit to what we are going to do, and the WHY behind it. This has to be our default way of thinking, the 'at the end of the day all that matters is X."

Remembering You Are Magic

Have you ever committed to doing something, just gone for it all in totally scared out of your mind and it worked?? Of course you have! Everyone has at least once in their lifetime! Do you remember that feeling? That no matter what came at you, or was thrown your way you had already decided on the outcome and you stayed with it until the thing was accomplished. THAT is what I am talking about!

I decided to volunteer for a month in Africa, a trip that would cost about $4000.00 USD, without ANY idea of HOW I was going to get the money. I was living at home at the time, in between jobs, making like $1000.00 a month maybe, which most of it went to my bills.

But I still DECIDED to go, paid my $200.00 enrolment fee and away I went! I made the decision that no matter what I was going to figure out a way to make the money to got to Africa for the month, then I took massive action towards my goal, doing the planning secondary to the making the commitment to the goal.

I told everyone I knew I was going first, that way if I did somehow start to feel wanted to back out, I had to deal with that feeling of knowing I set out to do something and didn't follow through. I then reached into my wheel well of skills and started offering any and all services I could to make money. I cleaned houses, did meal prep, trained clients and wrote meal plans and work out programs, I wrote blog posts, and I babysat. i managed to make just over $3000.00 all on my own in a matter of 8 weeks without a real job, and my parents ended up helping me tremendously by paying for my flight! I manifested everything I needed for my trip because I DECIDED first that I was going to go. Period. Then I took the action of figuring out the steps along the way. Do you see how powerful this is?

This way of making decisions has been my secret weapon for massive growth and how I always managed to achieve my desired outcome. Anytime I started to think about it first, or tried to plan something out before truly deciding to follow through, I never ended up following through. My logical mind stopped me every single time. Because here is the thing, yes, we NEED logic...But we also ARE magic. Magic isn't something that happens, it's what we are, LOGIC is something that happens. It is a useful took to guide and help us along our path, but logic is where dreams go to dilute themselves and die.

Our Mind Works For US, Not The Other Way Around

It's our job to tell our mind what to do, not to have our mind tell US what to do. More often than not, however, the former rings true for most of us. It's not an overnight process, but the more we work at giving ourselves a command and then following through on that command, the easier the process becomes. Making clear statements like; "I am going to the gym today" and going, no matter what comes up, is an example. Making wishy washy statements like; "I would like to go to the gym today', "I will try to hit the gym today", or my favourite " I HOPE I can go to the gym today.'

Why are you HOPING? Aren't YOU the one in control? See what I mean here? Our language needs to be direct and decisive in order to execute it. We must COMMIT to the outcome, and the plan will fall into place. No matter what your day is like, you have decided you will hit the gym and you make it happen, however you need to.

Not knowing can be scary, but guess what? You really don't know anything, not really. You THINK you know, because most things predictably happen, but ANYTHING can change in a second. Life can just all of a sudden be over.

The now knowing is the beauty and excitement of life. Embrace it! Sometimes we need to think outside the box, throw that cart before the horse and do something totally out of character because I PROMISE you, this is where massive growth takes place.

You got this!

Amanda xo

goals
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Giroux

Hi My name is Amanda! I am deeply emotional, with a lot of life experience and love expressing myself through writing. Hope you enjoy :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.