Motivation logo

How I Unlocked My Greatness!

Greatness is within you!

By Nelson JamesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know sometimes you feel like giving up because life can get so hard. I’ve been there. I’ve literally hit my breaking point at least 500 times throughout my life. Bear with me now as I share a bit of a personal story with you which I hope will motivate you to keep pressing forward into greatness. I was once someone people were afraid of because if anyone messed with me, I’d deal with it however I felt they deserved to be dealt with. I was an absolute force to be reckoned with and of course I had all of anger built up inside of me because of all of the negative things that were going on at home. My mom was crazy and my dad left when I was about 8-years-old without even saying “bye.” I felt as if he wanted nothing to do with us but especially with me because for the longest time he was my hero, the one I looked to as Superman, the one who would calm my mom down wherever she would flip on me and call me all types of names that I would prefer not to say, so when my dad left I was left to deal with mother all alone. Every day, I would cry and ask God what in the world is my purpose here on Earth. I would also wonder if the world and everyone would be better off if I wasn’t alive and that’s why many times I would attempt to kill myself by cutting myself, laying down on train tracks, over using drugs, and smoking like a chimney.

How I Unlocked My Greatness:

It took a lot of time for me to emancipate myself from negative thoughts about myself and the people of the world but I did it and I did it through music and writing. I always had a love for music from a young age because my dad introduced us to music at a very young age. I play the bass guitar and sing, my oldest brother plays everything, my oldest sister sings, my second oldest sister plays the piano and sings, my second older brother plays the piano, and my two younger sisters play the piano and guitar so even though we are a very dysfunctional family, we’re also a very musical family. To be honest with you all, I believe music and prayers are what is keeping our family together. But now I’ll speak on the writing aspect of things. I always liked writing because it was a way for me to express myself since I was always a very quiet individual. I would write about my days and how I feel mostly which wasn’t hard because I felt the same way every day, which was very, very sad and depressed. Then suddenly, a thought came to me to write a book and to become a motivational speaker and I wasted no time trying to fulfill this dream. I would practice my speech daily in the mirror acting as if I was speaking to a big audience and it did help me feel better about myself because then eventually I would start to use my mirror in my room as a tool for self motivation and that’s a short part of how I became the person that I am today and how I unlocked my greatness. Greatness is a choice. Be great today!!

Also, please leave a tip if you enjoyed the reading—it really would help! Thank you all in advance!

self help
Like

About the Creator

Nelson James

My name is Nelson James and I am 24 years of age.

I grew up in the Jane and Finch community in Toronto, Ontario, Canada where I was exposed to a lot of things I wasn't supposed to be exposed to. If you like what you read Please tip :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.