Motivation logo

How I got myself into reading more

One of the things I wanted to change for so long is to start reading more, and this is how I did it.

By Eleanor AnnayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How I got myself into reading more
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

I've never been an avid reader. To be honest, I've never really liked reading. Even in school, I did everything I could to pass the tests without actually reading the book. I would dare to say that I haven't read 65% of the books I should have, or I was expected to.

Yes, I know, it's shocking 🤯.

The thing is, I was never too fond of the idea and the concept of reading a book and then interpreting it in the way the professor expects you to. At least that's how classes in my school/country looked like. We were also “obliged” to write essays about the books, and if the professor didn’t like it, you get a bad grade. So, those two things combined made me very unmotivated to read.

When I started college, I went to law school, I was so fed up with reading and studying, from those awfully big and boring books, that I couldn't even look at the book, not to mention reading it.

What has changed in the meantime? ⏳

As I was growing older, 32 now, I decided that it is time to change that habit. That's on my "to do/goals/resolution" list for several years now, and I didn't have much luck moving forward.

After that horrible “not gonna mention the number” year and urge to do things to keep my mind busy, I started implementing reading into my daily habits. It had ups and downs, as everything.

What I've tried so far?

Reading tracker

Ok, so the first thing I've tried is of course habit i.e reading tracker. I use an undated Moleskin weekly planner to have some kind of organized life, and I've started putting little squares every week with the name of the book I planned on reading and then color it if I did (see in the picture below).

reading tracker from my planner

As you may notice, it didn’t go well. Out of 7 days in the week, I would spend some time reading during 2 or 3 days tops. So I moved on to the next method.

Dedicated reading time

I’ve read somewhere that you should dedicate reading time every day, let’s say 30 minutes a day you would spend reading.

That was a disaster. Why? Because I’ve spent more time checking how much time I have left than doing the actual reading.

Moving on to the next one.

Reading challenges

One year I’ve stumbled upon a reading challenge, 52 books in 52 weeks. Ambitious I know. And guess what, it was an epic failure. I’ve spent more time trying to find a book to fit in each category than to read it.

These things are meant for real bookworms, not someone who is trying to introduce a habit.

One thing I’ve learned in that challenge was to stop reading a book if you are not feeling it. You are not in school, it is not mandatory. If you don’t feel/like it, drop it. Not every book is meant for you.

What actually worked for me?

Simple thing that I didn’t think of earlier, but so effective. When I grab my phone to endlessly scroll on social media, I grab a book/Kindle (I bought a Kindle, it is easier and more economical — I’m not addicted to the smell of books).

Or, I grab my phone to play some ridiculous game, I grab my Kindle.

If there is nothing on TV I would enjoy watching, instead of watching anything else, I grab my Kindle.

It’s been 40 something days of 2021, and I already read two books and started another one. I’m so proud of myself! 🤗

how to
Like

About the Creator

Eleanor Annay

I wouldn't call myself a writer yet, but I'm getting there. I'm a creative soul enjoying writing and photography.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.