Motivation logo

How I found myself.

Self-discovery.

By Olalekan AdeekoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

The truth about finding oneself can only be discovered by the person in question. This article might seem like the previous one posted but really it is very different from how to be yourself. They are two different keys and important aspects of every individual, you need to discover the two in other to live your best life. You are free to arrange them as you so wish, either this first: "How i found myself", or "How to be yourself" second, trust me you will do very well no matter how you choose to arrange them.

When i was in my early twenties all i have ever wanted was to get my life figured out, all i want is to live my life purposefully, but then, a lot happened in the course of finding myself. I noticed as challenges arise i tend to mold myself to fit in, i try to say to myself i can be this and i can be that. At a point in my life, i was obsessed with being a Civil Engineer, i thought i loved it, i am always happy anytime i hear that word or see any Civil Engineer. As times pass by i realise that wasn't what i wanted i soon got tired of it and there i am again thinking of what i love, what my passion is and what i would like to do with my life.

A lot of times i go to be every day thinking and saying to myself who i'm i? And, what i'm i on planet earth for? There was a period of time i received a call from my aunt and she told me she wanted to see me, when i got to her place, she asked the question what would you like to do? Where do you see yourself in the next ten years? I looked up the roof and was murmuring, i couldn't figure out something straight, i can remember saying the Lord will help me out with my life journey.

She then suggested i worked with her husband who is into consultancy, at first i enjoyed it, and the next minute i got tired of it all, it seemed as if i was being forced to hard labor, you can not imagine how i feel each day knowing i have to get to work with him, all i pray for at the beginning of each week was for the week to move fast into the weekend. I really couldn't take it anymore at the same time i couldn't summon the courage to walk up to my aunt and tell her how i felt, but, of course, it affected my productivity, i was doing everything all wrong. So i said to myself i guess it's time i just walk up to her, and i can remember telling her this, "Aunty i don't think this is for me, it's not what i wanted." then she said are you sure? and i answered yes i am, with the joy that i wouldn't have to come here the next week to work, and that was it.

Then i am all back to myself again, I kept on praying and spending time trying to get myself to find myself. i tried and tried years passed when finally i got an answer to my prayer. I found out my love for speaking, which has always been there but i wasn't taking full cognisance of it, then i looked out for professions that have got to do with speaking and that was where the journey started, it led me to discover i love to motivate people into doing great things for themselves, then the addition leading to a motivational speaker. It went on and on until i discovered my love for writing, then i said to myself why didn't i know this before? Why is this just coming now, but like the saying there is a set time for everything.

If it is about finding yourself you don't need to work yourself too hard all because you really want to find yourself. For some, it might take a while talking of ages 25, 30, and some 35. You will discover at the very point when you eventually find yourself that is when you will be living your best life. Things will move so fast than you can ever imagine, you tend to do everything with ease.

All you have to do is to spend more time on self-reflection and also you have to keep on doing what you are doing and only by doing that will you be able to find yourself.

self help
1

About the Creator

Olalekan Adeeko

Olalekan Adeeko is an author, podcaster, public speaker, and he advocates for gender equality.

He loves traveling, and meeting people.

He is the author of the best-selling book "Success is free; only if you are ready to pay the price."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.